We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you plan to visit Antietam to see the Civil War Battlefield and looking for a perfect place to stay while you are in the area, I strongly recommend the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. My wife and I stayed there and we can't say enough good things about Inn keepers Joanne and Paul Breitenbach. We had been to Colonial Williamsburg earlier in the day and we hoped to be in Sharpsburg late afternoon. Well, we spent more time in Williamsburg than we had planned so we called Joanne to tell her we would be coming in around 9:00-9:30 pm. She said not to worry--should would be there and to drive safely. Sure enough when we arrived Joanne was there to greet us and she couldn't have been nicer. Rather than put us in the main inn, she put us in the Governor's quarters which was set off from the inn. She was concerned we would disturb the guests if we brought our baggage to the room we had reserved. Very thoughtful!!! The Governor's quarters were incredible. You walked into a large living room that led to a large bedroom that led to a large bathroom. It was an incredible room!!! Then in the morning, we had an outstanding breakfast--French toast, sausage, fresh fruit, and a delicious hot apple topping for the French toast--very delicious. Then, after breakfast, Joanne gave us about a 15-20 minute history of the house which really added a lot to our stay...For us, the Jacob Rohrbach Inn was an excellent B&B. We are sure it will be for you as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostontraveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 385 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

The inkeeper, Joanne, was very warm and inviting. She sat at the table while we ate the wonderful breakfasts she had prepared for us and told us of the history of the Inn and how it figured in the Battle of Antietam. This is the one, most important thing about staying at the right B&B - getting to chat with the Innkeeper at a personal level. This isn't anything you can get at a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Clara Barton Room with the King bed. That was rather unique and interesting becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My partner and I came to the area for the JFK 50-miler. We were in just for one night. Joanne greeted us at the door when we arrived. We stayed in the guest house, and it was perfect--wonderful historical charm blended with modern conveniences. The week before we arrived, Joanne sent us a list of local restaurants. The one we selected (Domestic in Shephardstown, WV) was excellent. When we told Joanne how early we had to leave the next morning, so offered to prepare a bag of food we could take with us. That bag of delicious food made our day!! We are very much hoping to return for a longer and more leisurely stay very soon.

Room Tip: Guest house highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katzeiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our 1st B&B. It was recommended to us by our daughter who had stayed there last year.
We stayed in the General's Quarters. We felt so at home there It was a lodging by itself. Very pleasant and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was delicious. Fresh fruit, juice, home made baked goods along with anything from waffles, french toast, scrambled eggs, Apple strudel was out of this world.

We enjoyed talking with Joanne each morning covering various topics. Joanne also supplied us with travel information to where we intended to go each day, providing maps and other travel materials. In our lodging Joanne had a book of various places to have lunch and dinner. which was a great help being strange to the area. I highly recommend staying here. Joanne was a great hostess along with us enjoying her company during breakfast. A. truly hard worker who strives to make her guests most comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband, granddaughter and I stayed at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn over Veteran's Day week-end. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like logs (and we both have trouble sleeping, especially away from home). Joanne made a delicious breakfast both days we were there. She also gave a wonderful talk on the history of the Inn, and we all hung on every word! My granddaughter (14) said she wished all her teachers were as good as Joanne as it would make learning so much easier. Joanne made sure all the guests were introduced to each other and we had a wonderful time talking together, sharing our plans for the day and relaying our experiences the next morning. We also appreciated Joanne for arranging a private tour of the battlefield. Our guide (Bob Murphy) was friendly, humorous, and very knowledgeable. His guided tour will help us in our goal of turning our granddaughter into a history buff! Our stay was memorable and we look forward to going again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My sister accompanied me on a memory trip in honor of my 50th Wedding Anniversary, The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is in the area that my late husband and I often visited. The stay at the Inn was a perfect getway and the inkeepers, Joanne and Paul, helped to make it so. I so enjoyed the delicious breakfasts seated with a group of ten people in a family-like setting. We stayed in the General's Quarters, a charming comfortable cottage. I am already considering the chance to return again in the spring.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn exceeded our expectations. The proprietors, Joanne & Paul Breitenbach, were warm, welcoming and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was a culinary feast. The accommodations were clean and comfortable - with a good mix of the original "civil war" era home along with today's modern conveniences. The setting was beautiful and the pace was relaxed. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the out-kitchen. It was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
844 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
144 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
270 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range: $142 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing