We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host Great Inn”
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great host Great Inn”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

If you love the charm of a historic building in wonderful historic small burgs then this is the place for you. It's a wonderful old building that is still in great shape. The hosts are wonderful, attentive, and great to be around. She arranged for a privatetour guide to take around the battlefield. There are lots of private tour guides that offer this service and I would highly recommend it as they really give you insight of the battle. Back to the inn, all I can say is I really enjoyed staying there, I felt safe and comfortable, the room's are very large with great furniture, the breakfast was great and they have every single cable channel known to human kind. It's the perfect place to stay when touring the battlefields because the building played a part as a field hospital for the battle. Oh and make sure you go to Harpers Ferry WV while you are there, it is truly just like an old European city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
215
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw en Sint Joosland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The JRI is a beautiful Inn and the innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, are very friendly and make you feel right at home. We enjoyed conversing with the other guests like LondonUKTom (see below) and his family and Richard who was travelling by motorcycle. Breakfast was awesome! I loved Joannes blueberry muffins! And being the lovely host as she is, she got us some to go when we went on a guided tour. If you are looking for a place to stay in Sharpsburg or the surrounding area, look no further and book a room at the JRI. You won´t regret it! If I ever go back to Antietam, I know where to go! Joanne and Paul, Thank you for a wonderful stay! Greetings from the dutch Yahtzee boys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed there several times. As always,it has felt like shone away from home. Owner is an authority on history of the area ,an excellent cook and host. Grounds are immaculate and rooms are as clean as home. I would not hesitate to return for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a family and used 4 rooms. Joann and Paul made us feel very welcome and their knowledge of the area was very helpful as we had travelled from the UK. The rooms were very clean, large and great decoration. We were able to use the garden which was useful as we had a 4 month old baby with us. Breakfast was wonderful, very filling and kept us going all day. I did like the fact that most of the guests had breakfast around a very large dining table, Our hosts were very friendly, chatty and we felt that they are friends. We would certainly recommend this B &B to anybody who is travelling in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUKTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A lovely place, a charming room, tastefully decorated without being "overdone". All the modern conveniences were available without compromising the essence of the period B&B. Breakfast was delicious and Joann was a most welcoming, knowledgeable and accommodating host.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We will return to the Rohrbach whenever our travel plans take us in that area. JoAnn and Paul are consumate innkeepers. The B & B has wonderful food, historic atmosphere, friendly service, and comfortable rooms. I would recommend the Rohrbach to any traveller.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsflorida@aol.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn ticked all of our must-haves when looking for a bed and breakfast experience. We loved having a private entrance and the private balcony with settee and chair was a real bonus! The room was extremely clean and very, very spacious. There were two lounge chairs as well as a table with two side chairs. Couldn't have asked for more.
The bathroom was small but very adequate. Water pressure was good.
Breakfast food was more than generous and more than delicious! Shouldn't have but ate all that Joanne offered each day. That included fresh fruit daily, homemade breads and then, even though we didn't need it, a delicious breakfast entrée. Each day was a different menu and each day was just as good as the day before.
I think that we enjoyed the breakfast conversations the most. Everyone there was some sort of Civil War history buff. It was so interesting to hear their stories. Joanne, the hostess, entered into the conversation also. The Inn itself has a history to tell and Joanne shared that, much to our delight.
Overall, I have never been to a better bed and breakfast. Future b&bs will have to measure up to the Jacob Rohrbach Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
803 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
131 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
285 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing