We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first stay in Antietam. I'd been looking at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn online for a few years and finally made reservations for my husband’s birthday. We stayed in the Antietam Suite, and our friends stayed in the Clara Barton Suite. It worked out great for us because of the adjoining door between the rooms. We found the Inn to be very charming and full of history. Joanne and Paul were very pleasant and accommodating! We took a battlefield tour with a local man, Bob Murphy, he was awesome!! (You can request him through the Inn). We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
65
195
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed this Inn. The beds were comfortable and the room was charming. We spent some time in the living room drinking our wine and munching cookies that Joanne had made. Breakfast was good, but overwhelming. Joanne went out of her way to accommodate our vegan daughter and we appreciated that. And on the morning we left there was snow falling and snow on our car. I asked to borrow a snow scraper but Joanne went outside and scraped our car for us instead!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a great experience at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn - Joanne and Paul were extremely friendly and helpful, and the Inn was lovely and comfortable - great beds! The location is great for all the sight-seeing in the area, and although Sharpsburg itself is pretty sleepy, we enjoyed a couple of good dinners in nearby Shepherdstown, which is a college town and has a cute downtown full of shops and restaurants. Breakfast at the Inn was delicious, and we enjoyed some of the civil war-themed DVDs they supplied in our room! It was pretty cold while we were there, or else we would have made use of their bicycle rental for touring the Antietam battlefield, but it's really nice that they offer that option. I'd highly recommend the Inn, and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited the Jacob Rohrbach Inn based on the suggestion of National Geographic Traveler magazine in its edition covering Civil War historical sites. We ended up there on a whim, very last minute, booking same day. The Innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, truly do deserve the friendliest innkeeper award. They were very accommodating and welcoming. They provided us with driving tours for Civil War sites that they compiled themselves. They also shared an audio tour to use for the Antietam battlefield. We appreciated the binder full of local eateries menus to help navigate lunch and dinnertime. Breakfast was scrumptious and you never left hungry. This is an all-around great destination!

Room Tip: The General's Cottage is spacious and we enjoyed being separate from the house as we had our chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a lovely Bed & Breakfast with a great location. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to all of their guests' needs. The town of Sharpsburg has a lovely charm that helps to round out the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband, our friends and I loved staying at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. The innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, are warm, welcoming and attentive. The intimate, charming rooms are beautifully appointed, meticulously clean and filled with Civil War era paintings, books and antiques.

Joanne helped us plan our itinerary. In addition to visiting Antiedam, she suggested a walk along the C &O Canal and told us about a "radio" show (one similar to "A Prairie Home Companion") being presented at Shepherdstown University. We had a great time and would not have known about the performance without Joanne's input. She also described the Inn's fascinating history and the role the town of Sharpsburg played during the Civil War.

Not least of all - Joanne is an amazing cook. Her breakfasts each morning and her homemade cookies (served as afternoon snacks) are simply delicious.

Charming and steeped in history- the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a treasure and staying there was a delightful experience.

Laura I
North Caldwell, NJ

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. We were visiting the battle grounds and were given a DVD to watch the night before our outing. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The food was delicious and our hosts were lovely. Additionally, they gave us good advice on places to eat and the best way to experience Civil War history. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TZN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing