We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Great Place To Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Save
You added Jacob Rohrbach Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“A Great Place To Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a lovely Bed & Breakfast with a great location. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to all of their guests' needs. The town of Sharpsburg has a lovely charm that helps to round out the entire experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
193
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband, our friends and I loved staying at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. The innkeepers, Joanne and Paul, are warm, welcoming and attentive. The intimate, charming rooms are beautifully appointed, meticulously clean and filled with Civil War era paintings, books and antiques.

Joanne helped us plan our itinerary. In addition to visiting Antiedam, she suggested a walk along the C &O Canal and told us about a "radio" show (one similar to "A Prairie Home Companion") being presented at Shepherdstown University. We had a great time and would not have known about the performance without Joanne's input. She also described the Inn's fascinating history and the role the town of Sharpsburg played during the Civil War.

Not least of all - Joanne is an amazing cook. Her breakfasts each morning and her homemade cookies (served as afternoon snacks) are simply delicious.

Charming and steeped in history- the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a treasure and staying there was a delightful experience.

Laura I
North Caldwell, NJ

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. We were visiting the battle grounds and were given a DVD to watch the night before our outing. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The food was delicious and our hosts were lovely. Additionally, they gave us good advice on places to eat and the best way to experience Civil War history. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TZN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room was clean, roomy, and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent, and the host and hostess were helpful, friendly, and informative. We enjoyed the area very much and found plenty to keep us busy during our stay. The only drawbacks were the somewhat lumpy bed (could sleep on it, just not as well as on a newer mattress) and feather pillows. More modern bedding would have made for a better night's rest. Otherwise, would go there again, especially for the nearby towns where the dining was excellent.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are looking for a top notch place to stay in the Antietam area, we recommend the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. We stayed in the General's Quarters cottage, which was private, peaceful, and a wonderful combination of nineteenth century character and today's comfort and convenience. The hospitality is first rate and the breakfasts are awesome. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviva322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A great place to stay in Sharpsburg. The Inn itself is part of the local history and is within driving distance of other historic sites (i.e. Harper' Ferry) and recreation areas. Joanne, the innkeeper, was helpful, knowledgable and a very good cook!!! We had an exceptional dinner at The Press Room in Sheperdstown which is only three miles from the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sand1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the Generals Quarters which was wonderful, a mix of old and new. The innkeepers were exceptionally hospitable with a great knowledge of the area. The stay was extremely memorable creating a oneness with our history. George and Alicia from Georgia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nani1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing