We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jim & Sally”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Jim & Sally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Rohrbrach B & B, thanks Joanne & Paul. Also finding our Grove family owned the home way back was a plus. We definitely plan to return when we tour this area of Maryland again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim70545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
209
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best breakfasts ever, spacious and comfortable rooms, Joanne was caring and gracious - BUT, if you rent one of their bikes, if they still aren't providing a bike repair kit, take your cell phone and the phone number of the Inn. I got a flat tire 5 miles from the Inn and had to run the bike back most of the way to make a dinner reservation. I all worked out. Before the run, I was still feeling full from breakfast. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobarms2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This B&B was perfect to really be part of the Civil War experience. If Antietam is part of your trip, the Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a perfect compliment to your trip. Joann and Paul were wonderful and helpful in helping plan this retreat. Great coffee, cookies and breakfast was outstanding. The house was so rich with history and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amazing room, perfect location, lovely helpful innkeepers. Great coffee and breakfast. Can't say enough good things about this experience. Fantastic find. We definitely will return soon. Not so happy with this Trip Advisor form however.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripadvisrsux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a joint birthday celebration with friends and we were fortunate to pick the Jacob Rohrbach Inn at Sharpsburg, Maryland as our place to stay. Joanne and Paul are the most gracious hosts, accomodating, helpful and have in years of experience come to know what to do and what to avoid.
The accomodations are fully modern within the historical charm of a great old house.Everything is "just right" breakfast is as much or as little as you want, common areas for sitting are well appointed and the grounds made us envious.
Bicycles are available for rental, its far easier to get around Sharpsburg that way, as well as Paul providing roadside assistance.
We as a group plan to return, and can highly reccommend this as the place to stay at Sharpsburg.

Room Tip: Heat and Air conditioning are modern and quiet, easy access from main house or outside balcony and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacChuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We wanted to be close to the Antietam battlefield park and couldn't have gotten much closer than Sharpsburg, which is an untouristed village on the eastern periemeter of the battlefield. The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is a very attractive b&b, in a wonderful old house on carefully maintained grounds. Joanne and Paul are helpful and welcoming hosts. Everything about their inn is pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was a marvel. The battlefield park is only a mile away, and Shepherdstown, which has a surprisingly good selection of restaurants, only two miles plus away. We will certainly stay again at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn on our return to western Maryland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOPHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved everything about the Inn, from the gourmet breakfast, location, as well as the lovely rooms we stayed in. Stayed in Antietam & Clara Barton Suite which we enjoyed tremendously. Joanne & Paul were outstanding hosts. Joanne quickly made you feel right at home. Plan on returning next year,and would recommend the Inn to all. Tough going back to the real world after being treated so royally. Thanks Joanne & Paul for great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing