We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay during our C&O Canal Path bike tour.”
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This lovely Inn is located about 2 miles from the bike path, and just around the corner from the Antietam National Battlefield which we wanted to tour as part of our bike trip. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating, breakfast was hearty and delicious. A bonus was the home baked cookies and coffee cakes. We came down for early coffee to the aroma of zucchini bread in the oven. Yum!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandR_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Jacob Rohrbach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 383 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

Joanne made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. She was very helpful without being intrusive. We had a relaxing stay and really enjoyed being able to walk down the street to the local tavern for dinner and live music. There is lots to do in the area and it's a great break from city life. We enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests and the coffee was outstanding!!

Room Tip: The Antietam room is large w/ covered porch.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I chose the Jacob Rohrbach B&B off the internet after I tried unsuccessfully to find 1 nights lodging in Harper's Ferry. I will be forever grateful that there was no room in Harper's Ferry. The JRH is the 5th B&B my husband & I have stayed in and we both thought it was excellent. It's very easy to find and conveniently located if you're doing a trip to the battlefield or the C&O canal or even Sheperdstown.
There are steps to deal with, but they are nice & wide and easy to climb. We were in the Antietam Room - a nice large suite very tastefully done in Federal style. The bed was very comfortable and there was a nice flat panel TV in the room.
The bathroom was a hair small and I would have liked to have had more counter space, but if that's the worst thing about the room, then I'm a happy girl. You are right in town and the night we were there, the fire company was called out twice, but it was earlier in the evening.
Breakfast was delicious and very satisfying...fresh fruit, coffee cakes & sweet breads and a sausage & egg casserole.
We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisastars7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

You can't go wrong with the Jacob Rohrbach Inn. It is on the Main St of Sharpsburg. You have private parking. A neighborhood Tavern is a block away. Joanne was a wonderful Hostess and made a delicious waffle breakfast. We also had the BEST historical guide for the battlefield, too. BOB. Ask Joanne to set up a tour for you. He knows his stuff!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1crissytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed in the old kitchen cabin. It was well appointed, quiet and relaxing. Joanne is a superb innkeeper and delicious cook. It is closest accomodations to the battlefield.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Both the Bed and Breakfast were outstanding. The General's Quarters was both comfortable and private. The Innkeepers are fantastic hosts. There is lots to do in the area from historic Antietam Battlefield to great dinning in nearby Shepherdstown, WV. Highly recommend this historic Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laboryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We are big B&B fans ( (52 in the last ten years) and have experienced all kinds across the country. Jacob Rohrbach was a delightful discovery. The spacious Generals Quarters is filled with history and comfort. Joanne and Paul's hospitality is warm and helpful. The breakfast was scrumptious! The lengthy morning table talk with them and the other guests about the fascinating history of house and local environs was a highlight. You're a couple miles from the Antietam battlefield, quaint Shepherdstown and the wonderful Bavarian Inn, which we recommend for a memorable dining experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowboybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
834 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
142 reviews
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
9.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range: $142 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing