We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”

Captain Benders Tavern
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sharpsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Lewisville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here after spending Saturday at Antietam National Park. It was a full house but we found a place to sit and got our menus and beverages right away. There was not a lot of wait staff, just the bartender and one other guy, but they seemed to have things under control. I ordered a Reuben. As far as I am concerned, there are 2 ways to make a Reuben; the right way and the wrong way... They so got it right! My husband ordered the burnside panini and he says "REALLY good". We also got boneless wings which were also delicious. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    89
    28
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard work pays off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The work that the owner has put into this place shows in the food, service and appearance. The friday night prime rib is better than I have had in New York or Chicago...at about 1/4 of the price. The Black and Blue burger will leave you AMAZED. Get the Onion rings also. WOW WEE. Drinks are a real value and the draft beer selection is not ridiculous.......but just right. Well Done.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwhafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Generous Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

it was a beautiful sunny day, so we sat out front. (no alcohol allowed out front) which was ok with My wife and I because we do not drink. Huge burger, great service, excellent Onion Rings. walking distance from our B&B the Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allerton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“We salute the Captain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stopped here just because we were hungry and it was the first place we came to, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The rueben panini was tasty with very lean and tender pastrami, but was rather small as ruebens usually go. The onion rings were crispy and piping hot. It was a satisfying lunch at a reasonable price.

It was late for lunch and we happened to be the only people eating for most of our time there. So we had the opportunity to visit with the waiter/bartender who gave us a run down on the history of the place and some of the highlights of the town. That was a nice addition to our quick stop in this historic Maryland town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Friendly staff and respectable bar food. We enjoyed the beer selections. We left before the karaoke but the people setting it up asked us to stay and join them. Very friendly atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hafa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Benders Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain Benders Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing