We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Captain Benders Tavern
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sharpsburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We popped by here after visiting Antietam National Battlefield in mid afternoon. The service here was great, and it was not a busy afternoon. The server took time to chat which was neat, not run off her feet.
The food was decent: good wings, decent caesar with chicken salad.
Free parking for an hour an Main St. out front of the restaurant.
Decent food for an average price, but great service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SummerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    91
    30
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end our visit to Antietam battlefield.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Charming hostess/barmaid, tasty ribeye sandwich, and yummy hoppy microbrew. Exactly one mile from battlefield.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Point
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cold beer... good food... nice place to stop in and great a cold one while riding your motorcycle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlee94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rowdy bar for the locals on Saturday night”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stopped here after the fireworks at Antietam. Waited fifteen minutes to be noticed -- at which point we were told they were no longer serving food (well -- maybe if you'd have waited on us earlier). The music was loud, locals were rowdy and full of beer, and we left in a hurry after we learned they weren't serving -- and we'd be going home starving on this particular night. Definitely not a family place after evening falls......maybe better at lunch. I don't know -- because I won't ever be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culby
Level Contributor
161 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cool place for a sandwich and drink”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's a neat little hole-in-the-wall place and locals tell me they have the best food in town. We had good sandwiches (especially the turkey/bacon panini) and cold drinks. A game of pool is only 50 cents!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank culby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Benders Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain Benders Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing