We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sharpsburg
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Antietam National Battlefield
from $80.00
More Info
from $390.00
More Info
Reviews (1,336)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveler rating
1,093
204
33
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,093
204
33
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bloody lane driving tour civil war visitor center observation tower burnside bridge ranger talk hallowed ground sunken road park ranger american history dunker church both sides gift shop small museum self guided tour minute film
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2015

Our tour guide was outstanding. This is the best way to get the full impact of your visit. I was part of a 50 party bus trip. We came for the evening illumination on December 5, 2015. It was a sight to see. The tour was during the day. The tour guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank bigsr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015

This is a great stop for a family wanting to learn history on a budget. Even if it's a rainy day, it is still worth visiting the museum; watching the movie inside; and if it's not pouring so hard that you can't see, taking the car tour CD and driving through the 8 1/2 mile tour.

Plan to spend three hours if you do the museum and the car tour, and dress appropriately add more time if you want to get out and walk the battlefield. If you are the type that likes to look at and read every display, follow tours, and read monuments, then there's hours and hours worth of history for you at this site. Take a couple of days and explore everything, if you are a history buff. The orientations are at set times, so call ahead for the times if you want to make that.

Cost: $10 per car for a three-day pass which includes the museum, movie, and grounds.

In the museum:There are artifacts and lots of informative displays and paintings; an observation deck where orientations are given (we missed that); a gift shop with educational items and fun things, some reasonably priced, e.g. $10 and under for book that would be good for a report on the visit; and an almost 1/2 hour video that is very well done with reenactments, narration, and on the field commentary. The full one-hour version of the video can be purchased in the gift shop for about $20.

Even though we missed the orientation, the park ranger on duty was informative and answered our questions after we watched the movie and then he found us in the museum to give us more info and to explain one of the displays to us.

Car tour: a little over $20 to purchase a CD tour and booklet that guides you through an 8 1/2 mile tour, stopping at significant places. You put in your CD player in the car or download it to your phone. It was interesting and informative. A perfect rainy day alternative to walking the grounds. The CD is not necessary, however, in order to tour the grounds and following the guideposts.

Notes:
Plan to drive around if you want to see everything.

This is a battlefield so if don't want your child to see any images of battlefield casualties, you will have to divert or redirect your child's eyes at times in the museum and during the movie. But there is still plenty to learn about by touring the grounds.

Also, if your child is young and uninterested in history, then you can just do the movie in the theater, the orientation on the observation deck, take a brief look in the museum, buy something fun at the gift shop and then walk the battlefield.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank unefamillede8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

My parents especially really enjoy history so this was an interesting place. I find the stories very interesting but the scenery was really beautiful the day we were there.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank WVExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2015

We only had two hours to dedicate to the battlefield but we found the video very helpful, the park ranger was terrific!!!!, and the car tour was enlightening. The cemetery reminded me of Gettysburg.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

We decided to tour the Antietam Battlefields since we happened to be in the area. Being a history buff, I knew I would enjoy it and I did.

The tour started in the museum with a 30 minute film. The film was excellently produced and very informative. After that, we visited the rooms with artifacts from the battle. It was very moving and informative.

Then, we took the 8-9 mile car tour and drove around to all the important sites of the battle. It was a cool, dreary day and definitely set the mood. I felt like I was stepping on the bones and remains of those that died there. Sad.

I think families and history buffs would gain a lot from a visit here to learn the sacrifices made by both the North and South during the Civil War.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank devils4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews