We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start at the visitor's center”

Antietam National Battlefield
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Sharpsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Bloodiest One Day Battle in American History: 23,000 soldiers were killed, wounded or missing after twelve hours of savage combat on September 17, 1862. The Battle of Antietam ended the Confederate Army of Northern Virginia's first invasion into the North and led to Abraham Lincoln's issuance of the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation. Antietam National Battlefield is located in western Maryland, 10 miles south of Hagerstown in Washington County. The best place to start your visit is at the park visitor center. The GPS address for the visitor center is 5831 Dunker Church Road, Sharpsburg, Maryland, 21782. We have brochures, museum exhibits, a film, a museum store, and park rangers and volunteers on duty to help you get oriented. The battlefield is approximately 3,000 acres that you can explore in your car or by walking. Operating Hours & Seasons: Open All Year, The Visitor Center is open daily from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Park Grounds are open daylight hours. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years Day The park has an entrance fee of $5.00 Per Person (age 16 or older; 15 and under FREE) or $10.00 Per Vehicle.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Start at the visitor's center”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

There are several tours each day at the visitor's center given by uniformed park rangers. In addition, you can get a map and do-it-yourself instructions so you can drive around the battlefield yourself. Or, ultimately, hire a private guide at the visitor's center for $75. He will drive your car and spend nearly 3 hours discussing every aspect of the battle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    170
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A must see for anyone interested in the Civil War”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We took a private tour given by Justin Mayhue, a certified Antietam Battlefield Guide. For nearly 3 hours we had a minute by minute explanation of the battle(s) as we moved across the battlefield in our car and made frequent stops. There are other private guides as well who can be hired via the National Park Service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
679 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“A Moving Tribute to Sacrifice and the Horrors of War”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I always get a feeling of melancholy when I visit a Civil War battlefield, such as this, and think of the horrible loss of life and limb, lives shattered and damage needlessly wrought. The Park Service has done a wonderful job preserving and marking the battlefield. We watched the excellent movie in the Visitor's Center, then drove along the marked drive. I particularly enjoyed Dunker Church, Bloody Lane and Burnside Bridge, with tangible reminders of significant events during the battle, and the Maryland Monument, a moving tribute, and the Observation Tower, with its sweeping views of the battlefield. We spent about 2 1/2 hours. People who really get into the the troop positions and play by play could spend days. We drove out of our way to get here and felt rewarded by making the effort.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“WOW- lots of battle fields to see”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

There is a small fee and well worth it. There are lots of cannons to view, locations of battles are well marked; plaques to explain locations. There are 1000's of acres dedicated to this. Don't forget to drive past the main visitor building 1/4 mile down the road there is more. You can spend all day here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndywill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hallowed grounds.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Even with the gift shop, the Fry house and the cemetery closed due to the government shutdown, one can spend informative hours touring the battlefield and area. I would have liked to had a narrative while looking over the high ground explaining the attacks and retreats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antietam National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Antietam National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing