We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Antietam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Antietam
Ranked #2 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
399 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Bob and Charles are two wonderful,. older gentlemen who made us feel very much at home. They told us a little about their show business history - very interesting. Charles made us wonderful breakfasts. If we visit Antietam again we will definitely try to get a reservation at The Inn at Antietam. We had the Rose Suite on the first floor which suited us very well. Our only negative comment is that the bed was harder than we would have liked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is just the homely sort of place one wants on a trip through America. Bob and Charles make you feel extremely welcome, a large room with a big bed, our own sitting room and en suite. Breakfast was to die for. A full American show cooked by Charles
If your staying here eat at The Press Room in Sheperdstown.
Wishing both Bob and Charles a very happy retirement when they sell the Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very convenient B&B if you are touring Antietum; battlefields, etc. The B&B is very clean, but the walls are thin. Breakfast was good. I concur with another reviewer who indicated that one of the owners was friendly; while the other was not. They tried to help us with a restaurant. The air conditioner did not work properly. We understood that the rooms were on individual thermostats, but ours was not working, and by the time we realized it we felt it was too late to disturb our hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algedneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Rose Suite on the first floor for two nights. The room is lovely and quite large. Bob and Charles, the owners were gracious and take pride in their B & B. The breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed sitting on the rockers on the porch looking out over the yard. This is a very peaceful B & B, with no TV or Wi-Fi. It is only a few minutes from Antietam Battlefield and is within walking distance of the cemetery where many Civil War soldiers are buried.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cew718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,601 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,692 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you are a Civil War buff, as we are, and you are visiting the Antietam battlefield, as we have on several occasions, there are only two places to stay--the Inn at Antietam, which is located on the battlefield, and the Bavarian Inn, located a few miles away on the Potomac River in Shepardstown, West Virginia. We have stayed at the Inn at Antietam on three occasions, the penthouse twice. Bob and Charles are superb hosts. The breakfasts are wonderful. In three days, we had plenty of time to cover the entire battlefield, visit the adjacent National Cemetery, nearby South Mountain and the Pry and Douglas homes, shop in Shepardstown and take a trip to historic Harper's Ferry. Read the new book, "The Long Road to Antietam" by Richard Slotkin, then check in at Inn at Antietam and visit the Cornfield, West Woods, Bloody Lane and Burnside's Bridge and it will all come to life before your eyes. Sharpsburg hasn't changed much since 1862. Oh, and don't forget to stop at Robert E. Lee's headquarters. He would have loved to stay at Inn at Antietam.

Room Tip: The penthouse is comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our group( all family) rented all the rooms last weekend - 2 More stayed down the street at the much more hospitable "Jacob Rohrbach Inn". When they came to join us to discuss dinner plans, they were not allowed in - registered guest only. We were told we could not congregate and were sent outdoors in the cool weather. My sister-in-law, a 63 year old librarian, was lectured 3 times.
Hampton Inn looks better and better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank PatPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of the Inn at Antietam is perfect for history buffs visiting the park -- and it's close to other historical sites as well. Bob and Charles were delightful -- great stories, dry humor, really caring. Room was attractive and comfortable. Food was excellent. Advice was too. We stay at B&Bs whenever we can and this is among the best. Great value for the money in an area known to be expensive. Wish we could have stayed more than a couple of days. Trees were beautiful at this time of year and I loved the picturesque vistas wherever we drove.

Room Tip: Garden Room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TypeWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Antietam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Antietam

Property: The Inn at Antietam
Address: 220 East Main Street, PO Box 119, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Location: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Antietam. Located adjacent to the Antietam National Cemetery in Historic Sharpsburg, MD. New owners Miriam and Will Cunningham have rescued an old B&B and after extensive renovations are open again. We strive to provide you with the best experience as you tour Civil War country, cycle the C&O canal, or visit the area for arts, antiquing, and culture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Antietam Hotel Sharpsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing