We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The General Morgan Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greeneville
Certificate of Excellence
Tazewell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The beds and pillows were comfortable. The rooms had a great historic look to them and were clean. They provide a coupon for breakfast at the coffee shop in the hotel. The ham and swiss breakfast sandwich is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, meagan2007! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    44
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
43
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
500 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We did not stay here but, were able to visit on our recent trip to Greeneville. It is beautiful!! The grounds are perfect to sit and relax and full of history. Maybe another trip to the area will allow us the chance to stay a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank judy177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, judy177! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Recently renovated National Historic Registry Hotel. Loved, loved, loved this place. Wonderful restaurant and excellent bar. Great staff. Unbelievable pricing. Same as local motels near expressway! You would expect to pay maybe double what they actually charge. Breakfast is in a non-profit church run restaurant in the building. Priced are so low you will feel guilty you do not pay more. Our room was fantastic! Very luxurious and the bath was very richly done.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoilerBoy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, BoilerBoy73! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The GMI is a jewel in northwestern Tennessee. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The inn has an interesting history that adds to its charm. The lobby is large, but a comfortable and intimate place to gather and converse. My only negative is the old style TV. It's not so bad, since I didn't stay in the room a lot. Check it out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mongo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, Mongo8! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna Tn
Level Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you like historic hotels and southern charm. Look no further than The General Morgan Inn. Located in the heart of Greenville Tn. Within walking distance to Andrew Johnson's Homestead. They also have a resturant on site. It's expensive but good food. If you like history look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, John J! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The General Morgan Inn in Greeneville, Tennessee was origionaly built in 1884 and beautifully renovated about 20 years ago. Our ladies group of 39 people had an overnight conference there and we could not have been more pleased. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The food and service were superb! I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, 543vacationer! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was finishing a weeklong speaking engagement trip through Tennessee and the sponsors booked me into this hotel in quiet Greenville, TN. The hotel is located on main street and well worth a 10 mile trip off I-81. It was restored to it's former grand state and maybe even better. it's unfortunate that I didn't get to spend much time at the hotel. The rooms were elegant and I had a modest room. Everything was immaculate. Breakfast was not served at the hotel, but I received a voucher at an adjacent coffee shop that was excellent. This hotel is worth the modest price and the miles off of I-81 between Bristol and Knoxville.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front had a litlte street noise, but it was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersbikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Thank you, Jersbikr! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greeneville
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Greeneville
Hampton Inn Greeneville
#1 of 8 in Greeneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Greenville
Quality Inn Greenville
#4 of 8 in Greeneville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Andrew Johnson Inn
Andrew Johnson Inn
#5 of 8 in Greeneville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites College Square
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Bulls Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.7 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Morgan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Morgan Inn

Property: The General Morgan Inn
Address: 111 N Main St, Greeneville, TN 37743-4919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Greeneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greeneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The General Morgan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to rediscover the classic pleasures of travel at Greeneville’s Historic General Morgan Inn, the perfect place to spend the night – whether you’re traveling for an intense business meeting with clients, or leisurely touring the lush foothills of Northeast Tennessee. Independently owned and operated for nearly a century, the General Morgan Inn is once again a privately-owned, independent hotel catering to the needs of the guest. Our 51 beautiful guest rooms and suite are located in the heart of Greeneville’s Historic Business District. Please visit our website to see more details about our restaurant hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The General Morgan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Morgan Hotel Greeneville
General Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing