We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butcher's Block

Butcher's Block
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in Greeneville
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a family owned restaurant. We have been in business for 30 years. We are very casual and have no desire to be "fancy" We want everyone to feel welcome when they dine with us!
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The food is wonderful. There is no wine served, but the owner encourages patrons to bring their own "moonshine." Frankly we were surprise at the quality of the food and service. We were in from California and the experience was completely unexpected.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only place to get a steak in Greeneville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

While most towns have a large chain steakhouse, Greeneville does not. If you want a steak in Greeneville this is the place to go. They also have good chicken and burgers. It is kid friendly and has a good selection of food for almost any taste. The service can be a little slow but that is to be expected from a place this small that gets crowded around peak hours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4seasons77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really...the best steak ever? YEP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I always check Tripadvisor reviews, and so many reviews for Butcher's block said "best steak I've ever had". Really? This place? But I have to say it was THE best filet I've EVER had. It was cooked exactly as I requested (medium), tender, juicy, and hot. It was bacon wrapped and great smoky grilled flavor. Queen cut $23.95 Dinner comes with the typical choice of sides (potato, rice, veggies, etc) beverage, and salad. Salad was just ok but who cares...you're at a steakhouse,,,be a carnivore. The servers were nice, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. They do not served alcohol but the waitress told us you can brown bag it. The place isn't much to look at, definitely not fancy, beverages served in large mason jars but who cares...BEST FILET EVER.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sulli_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Reliable and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have grown up in this area and this was always a reliable place for a good steak. Our family loves the Texas tails. Each time we are back home we always head back here. The service is OK but the food is remarkable. If a weekend night, call ahead for a reservation. Also if not a weekend, call ahead to confirm their hours. Again reliable quality of food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best steak in Greeneville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What a great surprise! We have visited twice and both times have been excellent. Service was friendly and prompt and our drinks were always full. Dinner portions were large and cooked to order. The steak was moist and had a great flavor. We wish the salad had been fresh instead of from the "bag". A fresh salad with home made dressing can change a meal. The plastic table covers were wiped clean but sticky during both visits and the forks bent a little while cutting our meat. The meat was tender, the utensils were just cafeteria quality. The experience was enjoyable and we will eat here for dinner every time we visit Greeneville. Make sure to get there when they open or you will have to wait. They are always busy because everyone knows it is the best steak in town. Bring your own "spirts" as they do not serve alcohol but will bring glasses to the table and make you feel comfortable that you chose to bring your own.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMM4M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher's Block also viewed

 
Greeneville, TN
 

Been to Butcher's Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing