We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andersonville National Historic Site and National Prisoner of War Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Andersonville National Historic Site pays tribute to all American prisoners of war. The park has three features: the National Prisoner of War Museum, the site of the Andersonville prison, and the Andersonville National Cemetery.The National Prisoner of War Museum commemorates the sacrifices of all American prisoners of war. Museum exhibits tell the story of prisoners of war using artifacts, visuals, text and oral history interviews with former prisoners of war. Two 30-minute introductory films alternate thoughout the day. The museum is open from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily. A tour road encircles the Andersonville prison site; a self-guided driving tour is available. The Andersonville National Cemetery contains the graves of nearly 13,000 Union prisoners of war. The national cemetery is still active and contains over 20,000 interments.Most visitors spend at least two hours in the park. Those with an interest in the Civil War or military history could easily spend most of the day.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“POW Museum a must visit”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The museum was full of first hand artifacts from wars ranging from the Civil War, WWI, WWII, Vietnam, Korea, and Desert Storm. Very powerful exhibit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    110
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Talladega, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Place...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Andersonville was actually 3 parts. The National POW Museum was very interesting. I don't think I really realized what POWs went through. Very amazing. The National Cemetery really put into perspective how many people died there. The markers were very close together. That made it more real. The prison site itself - a lot of people would probably expect the entire prison to still be standing, but that is not the case. There are 2 sections of the prison to see, and several cannons, as well as the layout of the prison plus a few tunnels the Union soldiers dug to try to escape. Very interesting place...well worth the 3 1/2 hours I drove each way specifically to see this place. It took us 3-4 hours to go through it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bamabrowneyes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing Andersonville”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited this amazing place when we were staying in Plains, Georgia. This incredible site is where the Civil War POW's were kept in prison. Conditions were awful - prisoners died from lack of water, sanitation, food and shelter. It is a green, pleasant peaceful site now, a parkland surrounded by forested woodland, but to be sent there as a POW must have been a death sentence for the men captured during the Civil War between the north and the south. The site was chosen because there was a railway leading to what is now the historic pioneer village of Andersonville.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneErena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Educational Place to Stumble Upon”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were on the way to Plains, GA to see President Carter when we happened upon this place. We made sure to hit it up on the way home and were not disappointed. I had no idea that this former POW camp location even existed. It must have been an unpleasant existence for any Civil War soldier during that time, but this really brings home how difficult it was to be a POW.

The museum was the real highlight and was very well done, although that sounds strange to say seeing what a difficult topic it covers. It focuses on the history of American POWs, from Civil War to current day, and even touches on Japanese internment camps for American families living in Asia during WWII. I had no idea - we never learned about that in history class. I really walked away learning something from this place.

Don't miss the cemetery and be sure to look for the 6 "robber" Union soldier graves that are set apart from the rest of the lost POWs. Fascinating story behind that one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lndrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“VERY SAD FOR A CIVIL WAR PRISON”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When you think for the 14 months that the prison was open that between14,000 and 30,000 people died at Andersonville. Very informative but sad. There is only a small section left of the prison but the water collectors that they drank and washed from are still standing and you just have to wonder how much the Union was hated. The POW Museum that is part of the sight is sad also. They have a special computer that you can look up a prisoner by name from any war.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelwithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andersonville National Historic Site and National Prisoner of War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Andersonville National Historic Site and National Prisoner of War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing