We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising (in a good way)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whispering Palms Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went by the Tripadvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. This has got to be the best place to stay in Del Rio - not cookie-cutter, and a good value. Staff were very friendly when we checked in and on the phone and when we got there. This place really should have more business!!! When I called to make a reservation earlier in the day, the employee on the phone assured me I didn't need reservations - that they wouldn't be that full but, just to humor me, he took my information and assured me there would be a room available. He was right, and there were surprisingly few guests. (it was New Year's Eve).

The hotel is newly renovated - TOTALLY gutted and renovated - so everything is new. They didn't to a 'cookie cutter' approach to the remodeling, and I found the rooms a bit more interesting that the typical cookie-cutter room. Furnishings were all new. TV was a large, flat-screen with lots of channels. Although Del Rio doesn't necessarily FEEL like a safe town, the hotel set-up is secure, with all rooms facing an inner parking area. My only complaint is that there was no real view.

Note: If you do a 'street view' (at least as of Dec 31, 2012), you'll see the hotel in mid-renovation. Interesting, and is shows the degree of renovation. I/we would absolutely stay here again.

Service: excellent - friendly, willing to help in any way.
Value: excellent - in that town, and most others you'd have to pay a lot more for a place like this.
Sleep quality - very good. It was quiet and very comfortable, though there weren't guests on any side of us and only about 10 rooms were filled. We were on the second floor.
Cleanliness - as clean as can be.
Location - good if you're there to visit Del Rio, it's in the middle of town
Rooms - very nice. Large, new/nice furnishings, not-quite cookie-cutter

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad room in the bunch but, since they all face a central area, you might want...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BROCIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Driving up and down Veteran's Boulevard gives you a view of lots of average roadside motels. The view offered by Whispering Palms Inn was much more -- bright and clean looking, inviting and so I stopped and went in. The lobby staff are terrifically friendly, the rooms clean, quiet and spacious, brand new furnishings, the parking lot courtyard is clean as a whistle, self service breakfast simple and healthy. A pleasant surprise, a nice stay, much better than your average roadside lodging.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you! We appreciate your review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very clean, great service, quiet and very safe. Rooms have all brand new furniture and new mattress and new large flat panel TV with cable. Parking is a bit tight and no trailers. All rooms face the parking lot and their are many cameras and lights making it hard for theft.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although a motel, it was immaculate. Clean, well cared for and well run and nothing was too much effort. A really friendly welcome. Certainly the best thing about Del Rio, it even has a reasonably good restaurant next door-Manuel's Steakhouse.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsbfjW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you! We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Like the other reviews say, it doesn't look much from the outside but the rooms are perfectly lovely. It was a little bit intimidating when I arrived, the front door was locked and I had to phone someone to let me in. I was thinking I might have to find somewhere else but when the man appeared he was really appologetic and very friendly. The car park was full of trucks and burly men and again I was a little unnerved but the room was large, clean and well decorated and the burly men actually quite friendly! Great breakfast with lots of options. It was really nice to stay somewhere that wasn't a chain for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynameislizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you! We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The exterior of this updated motel is misleading. Check out the lobby and the rooms and be pleasantly surprised. Clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation in an otherwise unremarkable city.

Room Tip: Breakfast disappears quickly. Get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pedalcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Hi there! We enjoyed reading your review. Also, thank you for the tip! breakfast does sure go pretty fast but if any of our guests don't make it on time we are always willing to get them anything they may want or need with what we have:). We do apologize for this by the way, and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel out of all the others here in Del Rio. We do understand that our hotel does not look too pleasing from the outside but sometimes during Christmas we love to decorate it as much as we possibly can. With your opinion on that, we will sure figure out some ways to start making our building look great! Your stay really means a lot to us and we do hope to see you again sometime in the future. Once again thank you VERY much! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Let's be honest - Del Rio isn't paradise on earth.....but this remodeled motel is extraordinary. From the super-helpful folk working there when I arrived - Larry, Dinah and Samay - to the brand new, tastefully decorated rooms......and all this for under $50!!

I can't imagine a better deal in Texas, frankly.

Bravo!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kosalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Rio
0.7 mi away
Ramada Del Rio
Ramada Del Rio
#4 of 11 in Del Rio
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Del Rio
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Del Rio
La Quinta Inn Del Rio
#6 of 11 in Del Rio
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Del Rio
2.4 mi away
Studio 6 Del Rio
Studio 6 Del Rio
#8 of 11 in Del Rio
45 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#2 of 3 in Ciudad Acuna
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Inn

Address: 1300 Veterans Blvd, Del Rio, TX 78840-3622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Del Rio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Del Rio
Price Range: $63 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Palms Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms Inn is a brand new and remodeled Hotel in Del Rio, Texas with a modern sense of luxury. Whispering Palms Inn property has surveillance camera system which monitors all activity outside the rooms and street parking areas so you can rest assured your things are safe. Our hotel is conveniently located near the main strip of the city and you can also dine, treat yourself at our stylish beauty salon, and shop at a near by boutique right on our property. Front desk is also open 24 hrs for late night guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Whispering Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing