We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Position Good but Needs Updating” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saipan Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Position Good but Needs Updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

A smaller hotel in a good position close to the Galleria shopping centre and other shops and restaurants etc. in Garapan. The outside looked tired as we arrived and the reception area did little to impress. The room was clean but all the fittings old and worn. The worst thing was the bathroom. The shower over the bath was a hand held shower only and the pipe leaked so badly the bathroom floor was flooded every time it was used.

The swimming pool was clean but small.

The restaurant offers breakfast and lunch but after one try of the breakfast we did not return; quite the worst we have experienced. One greasy sausage, one small bowl of rice soup, one appallingly tasting boiled egg, a slice of cheap very sugary white bread and one quarter orange. The rice soup was OK and the orange was fine, the rest was very poor. You could pay an extra $7.5 for some choice but we did not risk it! We found a nearby shop and bought some fresher food to create our own breakfasts.

We considered leaving and finding a better hotel but as we had three days only and the weather was fine, we spent very little time in the hotel so we survived.

Exploring the rest of the hotel we discovered that the rear covered entrance and parking area were stacked with rolls of carpets and other building materials. Perhaps a refurbishment is on the cards? The hotel needs it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    32
    5
    9
See reviews for
4
16
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had an opportunity to visit Saipan for a 3day conference. Checked the website for a nice hotel. Saipan Oceanview looked good on-line. And that's it. Room was stuffy. Small kitchen that only had a sink and a frige. Turned the water on to wash the sink and whoa....dirty running water. Luckily the shower had clean water, Bed was hard. Bedsheets were actually tablecloths. I know. I have the like at home. Couldn't sleep. Noisy neighbors. Complained to front desk that took hours to resolve. Internet was not available in all rooms as advertised. Was told I had to come down to the lobby for internet usage. Asked for iron----none available. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mareperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saipan hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

While this is very much a 3-star hotel, it represents good value for Saipan. Many of the so-called five-star hotels have also seen better days, so the difference in prices for rooms do not represent a fair difference in terms of the quality of rooms, in my opinion.

The Ocean View is well located, in sight of the ocean, and adjacent to the popular DFS shopping plaza, which also houses the Hard Rock Cafe. Next to the hotel is a Chinese grocery store which stocks all the amenities the hotel may not, including bottled water, snacks, toothpaste etc.

The room itself was quite basic, but clean. It had an in-room safe, decent AC (I don’t like AC generally) fridge and old TV with basic channels. The front desk staff seem to be mostly from the Philippines, and are friendly and helpful when approached. They kept my luggage for me for at no charge when I ventured over to neighbouring Tinian island for a few days.

The hotel has a pool which seemed clean and reasonably maintained. The hotel also has on-site self-service laundry facilities. There is a restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, but I never used it.

The vast majority of their guests seem to be from Japan and China, many on group package tours.

There is an unadvertised dive operator on the third floor that seems to cater mostly to Japanese.

Bottom line for me: Fair price, convenient location, everything worked as it should, basic but clean room, and hot water for showers.

Tip: For breakfast, make the 15-20 minute walk to Cafe at the Park by the American Memorial Park. The best breakfast in Saipan. Tony Roma’s is also a popular dinner spot, but get there early to avoid the queue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrientHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is located across Beach road in Garapan from the ocean. Despite the name your view of the ocean will depend on how high a floor your room is on and which way it faces. The staff is ok. The facilities themselves are tired and worn out. The beds in the room were just marginally better than a camp cot. There is no internet available there. If your room faces Beach road then you should expect to hear traffic all the time. The towels I recycle and use to wash my car are better than the tattered pieces of cloth that pass for a bath towel here. The price is low… so I guess you could make the argument that ‘you get what you pay for’, but even that argument does not hold up when compared to other places I’ve stayed… If you are hungry, take a pass on the restaurant and walk 3 min up the road and go to Round Two. Alternatively there is a MacDonald’s just across Beach Road and down a few hundred meters. Wild Bill’s is just down the street if you want Thai food. The best that can be said about this place is that it located in the middle of downtown Garapan; you can walk to a-lot of places; although there’s really no much to do there unless you are a fan of overpriced stores selling items you can buy for 30% less on Amazon.com

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayase, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August 2011. We read reviews on trip advisor prior to booking a room and understood that this was an average hotel with a great location. After arriving, we quickly found out that the only thing good about it was the location. It is in the main Garapan district close to resorts, shopping, restaurants, and bars.

The hotel itself is very poor. Both the male and females bathrooms in the lobby were "out of service" the 3 days we were there and looked like it had been that way for a long time. The hallways were very dirty and they have no air conditioning so they smell like mildew. The room had a constant running toilet and a shower that leaked all over the floor. THe room smelled like smoke. The T.V. was very old and lots of static as if it was about to die. Therefore, you could never watch T.V. because the picture never came in clear. The lock to the balcony off of the room was similar to a paper clip and certainly not secure. The bed was very thin as you could feel each spring. Finally, the airport shuttle that is offered to and from the airport is not free. They will charge $20 each way so you are better off renting a car for $40 from the airport. To sum it all up, my wife and I ended up checking out a night early just to switch to another hotel in Saipan. For an additional $25-$35 a night you can get a nice, clean hotel right on the beach. This hotel is not worth the location that it is in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayasesensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gove, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hotel is right across from the ocean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made a point to call us by name. The rooms were a nice size and the water pressure was good. The location is within walking distance to all of downtown Garapan and I felt very comfortable walking alone in the evening even if my husband wasn't with me.
The only negative comments we have is about the beds and the hallways. The hallways were really warm because they're not air conditioned and they kept the windows closed. However, when I asked to open the windows, they immediately had housekeeping open all the hallway windows on our floor. The beds were a little hard but, I'm really picky about my bed. All in all, we'll definitely go back to the Saipan Ocean View Hotel if we're ever in Saipan. Oh, yeah. The pool is very clean and nice. If you have trouble getting wi-fi in your room, ask the front desk. They have two servers and ours was initially turned off.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooks pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

great location, good wifi in the lobby. a little pricey for the quality of rooms. clean rooms, safe, a little rund own. great store located next door though for snacks and drinks. didnt try the pool. generally a good hotel as far as whats avail on saipan.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel Saipan
Paradise Hotel Saipan
#24 of 36 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 5 in Garapan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#7 of 36 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Himawari Hotel
Himawari Hotel
#12 of 36 in Saipan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Holiday Hotel
Summer Holiday Hotel
#21 of 36 in Saipan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saipan Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saipan Ocean View Hotel

Property: Saipan Ocean View Hotel
Address: Beach Road | Garapan, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saipan Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saipan Ocean View Hotel is a 6 stories 3 star Hotel with 90 rooms. Equipped with an elevator. Newly renovated, with it's restaurant on the second floor right across from the swimming pool. All rooms have air conditioning, bathroom, and refridgerator. Front desk is available 24 hours everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Saipan Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing