We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great location, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Saipan
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hotel is right across from the ocean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made a point to call us by name. The rooms were a nice size and the water pressure was good. The location is within walking distance to all of downtown Garapan and I felt very comfortable walking alone in the evening even if my husband wasn't with me.
The only negative comments we have is about the beds and the hallways. The hallways were really warm because they're not air conditioned and they kept the windows closed. However, when I asked to open the windows, they immediately had housekeeping open all the hallway windows on our floor. The beds were a little hard but, I'm really picky about my bed. All in all, we'll definitely go back to the Saipan Ocean View Hotel if we're ever in Saipan. Oh, yeah. The pool is very clean and nice. If you have trouble getting wi-fi in your room, ask the front desk. They have two servers and ours was initially turned off.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooks pool and ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Saipan Ocean View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

great location, good wifi in the lobby. a little pricey for the quality of rooms. clean rooms, safe, a little rund own. great store located next door though for snacks and drinks. didnt try the pool. generally a good hotel as far as whats avail on saipan.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I visited Saipan in March 2010 with a friend who is really into WW2 history. We picked Saipan Ocean View Hotel during our 4 day stay on the island after we looked up online the hotel's location relative to the main shopping centers/nightlife of the island.

We were skeptical at first because of a few negative - and rather outdated - comments on here, but everything turned out fine. The hotel provided airport shuttle service in the price, and the ride from the airport to the hotel took only 10 minutes. The front desk staff were very friendly (we can talk to them about anything), and I believe the carpet in the hallways were just renewed. The rooms were very standard: 2 beds a small tv with the standard news channels, a balcony facing the swimming pool. The air conditioning wasn't as strong as I was normally used to, but I had no problems with being able to fall asleep. Also, there was free Wifi in the main lobby and the rooms too (much better connection at the lobby though).

Nothing too special about the rooms, but honestly who needs an expensive luxury room when you're only on the island for a few days and out sightseeing for most of the day? The hotel was situated in the center of the downtown/nightlife district. Five minutes-walking time- from hotel to: Mcdonald's, supermarkets, Duty Free and other souvenir shopping centers, and of course Garapan, the "red light district" of Saipan. However, the hotel didn't provide tours for sightseeing, but they did help us get a discount on a car rental nearby.

Well, to conclude, my stay at Saipan Ocean View Hotel was pretty awesome. Great value, but perhaps the best location for the price, especially if you are on a budget or just want to have a decent, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I took my NCLEX exam in Saipan, and the location of the Examination site is near OceanView hotel. I can say that this is a filipino hotel because most of the staffs are filipino, including those in the restaurant. Good Enough

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank jon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Saitama, Japan
215
Reviewed August 3, 2005

Our travel agent said it had vacancies, so we checked their website. It looked okay so we went ahead and booked it. Arrived to unfriendly service from reception and the whole place looked nothing like the photos posted on their website. Walked the dirty carpet through the paint smelling hallway looking at the rundown buidlings outside through the broken blinds to our room. Nervously entered our room - the size was okay, however the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly, our 'ocean view' was instead looking out at other rundown hotel rooms and the overall vibe of the place wasn't good - like a ghost town. We promptly left and booked a room across the road at the Hafa Adai forfeiting our three nights accommodation at the Ocean View. Though the cheapest rooms available there are a little 'tired', they were clean, the staff were friendly, the pool was big, the hotel had a resort feel and had six restaurants on site. It was well worth the hassle of changing hotels and the room charge was the same, if not slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Marshall Islands
118
Reviewed April 16, 2005

I was looking for a basic hotel just to catch a little sleep between flights. The price seemed right and there was free airport shuttle. This hotel has seen better days--and that had to be long ago. The hall carpeting was literally black and the lamp shades in the rooms were a deep gray from cigarette smoke and age. I was not expecting the Hilton at the price I booked at, but this was dingy even for the purpose of having a place to rest. If you're need a basic but cleaner hotel, I'd recommend the Pacific Marina instead. It's a little farther off the beaten track, but much better than the Oceanview.

18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
0.4 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 6 in Garapan
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#7 of 35 in Saipan
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Holiday Hotel
Summer Holiday Hotel
#23 of 35 in Saipan
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#4 of 35 in Saipan
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Himawari Hotel
Himawari Hotel
#10 of 35 in Saipan
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace
Hotel Sun Palace
#27 of 35 in Saipan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saipan Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saipan Ocean View Hotel

Address: Beach Road | Garapan, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range: $100 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saipan Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saipan Ocean View Hotel is a 6 stories 3 star Hotel with 90 rooms. Equipped with an elevator. Newly renovated, with it's restaurant on the second floor right across from the swimming pool. All rooms have air conditioning, bathroom, and refridgerator. Front desk is available 24 hours everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saipan Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing