We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Hyatt, but Smells Funny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariana Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than Hyatt, but Smells Funny”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I travel to Saipan multiple times a year and stayed in this hotel for this trip. Previously I stayed at the Hyatt, and did not like the out-dated, mold infested rooms. So I decided to give this place a try.
The place has huge rooms, cheaper prices, nice views and better bathroom fixtures, compared to Hyatt.
BUT, internet connection not consistent, very isolated with no coffee shop nearby, breakfast starts at 7am (not friendly to people from the States who will be jet-lagged and will wake up at 2am), lunch buffet is terrible, and most of all, they use a cleaning agent that gives the rooms a funny smell that made my head hurt.
Next time I am trying the BEST KEPT secret hotel on Saipan, a new one on the other side of the island: Lau Lau Bay resort:
http://www.laolaobay.com/Eng/playfee.html

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanjingren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    75
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
66
58
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very spacious and tidy room (Reef Side rooms). Great spa in next to hotel entrance. Magnificent golf course (dry season in April). Beach benches are chargeable at USD5.00 each and not so much sandy beach area although it is a great snorkelling spot, right in front. Very low tide in noon hours. Advisable to have snorkel shoes. Weekly bus coupon is available and handy to have. About 30 minutes to Garapan town area. Thursday night market is nice to be at. Magic dinner show is available at Hyatt Regency Hotel in Garapan.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Mariana Resort and Spa is our hotel of choice for our several trips to Saipan each year. It is in very good condition and boasts very nice ocean views from clean, spacious rooms. The staff provide excellent service and the grounds are very pleasant for an after dinner stroll. The spa is, by consensus of ourselves and several locals, the best in Saipan and is certainly worth the extra ten or twenty dollars a day for the scenery alone. While it is a bit off the beaten path, that's not such a big problem on a small island like Saipan and convenient, free transportation options abound for the fifteen minute trip into town for additional dining, shopping, etc.
Be sure to reserve a couple months in advance and look into the discounts for advanced booking, five day stay, and the slight additional charges for the delicious breakfast buffet and spa package. They have an executive course as well as an 18 hole golfcourse which they sell some packages for too.
Mariana Resort offers much more than most of the hotels on Saipan for a bit below the same price.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rikraeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saipan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Food servers should always tie up there hair. I went to Puduo King Cafe and there was one waitress with a long hair which was flying into the food that I ordered. That was so gross....Pls. not cleanliness is next to Godliness...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annarussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
1.7 mi away
Aqua Resort Club Saipan
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Saipan
Hyatt Regency Saipan
#1 of 36 in Saipan
635 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#5 of 36 in Saipan
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
5.7 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#7 of 36 in Saipan
85 reviews
6.3 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 6 in Garapan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana Resort & Spa

Property: Mariana Resort & Spa
Address: Umang Street, Marpi, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saipan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saipan
#5 Spa Hotel in Saipan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariana Resort And Spa
Mariana Hotel Saipan
Mariana Resort Saipan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing