We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was once grand, but now not so...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Certificate of Excellence
Hagatna, Guam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“was once grand, but now not so...”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I just completed three days of work on Saipan and stayed at the Grand. I was seriously disappointed as my experience 26 years ago was wonderful. This property is in need of some TLC. There is no 24 hour cafe, the beds are like plywood covered in sheets and the tvs are something from 1970. Front desk staff lacks knowledge about their policies. There is no room service or vending machine for soda or snacks although there was coffee service in the room. The refrigerator in the room was not stocked Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelingfrank489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    162
    74
    19
    5
See reviews for
101
90
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had read other reviews and was concerned that the hotel might not be as clean or nice as I had hoped. But the rooms have all been recently redone and we had a very nice clean room with a wonderful view. We were up on the 9th floor and could not have asked for a better view!! The staff was wonderful and helpful when we needed it. This was our honeymoon and it met and exceeded our expectations. The only excpetion which we did not use, the pool needs to be updated. It was clean but is reaching the point where it needs repair. But with the ocean right there and 80 degree water temp, you dont need a pool!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wow2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I were attending a wedding of a dear friend in Saipan. Since we did not pick the hotel, there was no option of changing locations We stayed in the Emerald tower.

The attitude my husband and I decided to have was just to laugh at how dirty, run down and gross it was. We tried to make lemonade from the lemons we got!
I think the island in general is not, and hasn't been for about 30 years, in a good economic state, so I’m sure these hotels are barely hanging on and money for renovations is just not an option.

With that being said…

As we walked into our room we just started to laugh. It was apparent that nothing has been updated since about 1975. The once "white" shades were now a yellow, stained, crooked mess. The mold in the bathroom (it could be smelled throughout the entire room) would have caused any American mainland hotel to be shut down. The alarm clock was built into the head board of the bed and did not work; nor did our safe for that matter. Although, the staff did come and fix it the first day after a couple of phone calls. I am typically NOT a germ-phobic, not much grosses me out, but I would NOT walk on the floors without shoes on. The size of the rooms were HUGE! That would have been a plus, but that just meant more disgusting carpet to cross as I went to the door or bathroom.

The beach was beautiful and the view out my room was great, but the music playing from the water park next door seemed to act as our alarm clock instead. By the end of the trip I knew the playlist by heart.

They let you bring your own drinks into the rooms and beach. That was a plus! We bought beer and wine at the grocery store across the street.

Like another reviewer, nothing seemed to be open in terms of facilities or restaurants.

I also was deeply saddened and obsessed with the mangy dog tied to a cage on the hotel’s beach. I would spend a lot of my time petting him and trying to cool the dog down. I even brought it my leftover meals. The dog was the sweetest thing I’ve ever met and I doubt its fate was good. I’d be surprised if the poor thing was still alive. It haunts me still today. I hope someone rescued him from the heat, flies and mosquitoes that were literally killing him. Out of all my complaints of the hotel, the dog is my biggest. I’m sure he’s just one of thousands on the island in that state, but it was so hard to see. I tried to contact a humane society with now luck.

I would certainly NOT recommend this hotel to anyone who has even mediocre expectations.
But all in all, the friends were got to spend time with was most important and I had a wonderful time in Saipan!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tater427Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Great view from my room. Otherwise a big disappointment. No exercise room, no coffee in the room, no internet unless you have a lap top, they list about six places to eat in the hotel, but they are almost always closed. Breakfast buffet was expensive, at least $15, but very mediocre. Almost everything offered was geared to the Japanese and Koreans who are their main clientele. I asked if they had coffee shop. Of course, the answer was no. The staff person recommended that I go across the street to Winchell's for coffee. After trying the hotel's breakfast buffet, I went to Winchell's for breakfast as well. They had very good sandwiches for a third of the price of the breakfast buffet. The hotel is not in a particularly good location, being rather far from the center of town. I asked about a shuttle to the airport. The clerk told me it was $15, and the price was non-negotiable. I told her that the taxi from the airport cost only $12, so why would anyone use their airport shuttle. She said, "some taxis charge $25." I promised her that I wouldn't use such a taxi. I paid $12 for a taxi to the airport. Stay away from this place. It is a terrible value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jward373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Saipan Grand Hotel is just fit for the budget. Accessible to the beach going to Managaha Island.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_go_0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

The hotel is old and the service is terrible to say the least. I was out there for the Saipan Xterra in March 2008 and the rooms were run down and the website photos were deceiving. By all accounts a motel would have been better than staying at the Saipan (not so) Grand. I only ended up staying for a night because the conditions were so bad; I transfered over to Pacific Islands Club. The morning I checked out a coconut had fallen on my rental car and shattered the back window. The car rental went from $120 to $1400. I contacted hotel management on the matter and after 5 months of excuses and emails I received a letter saying he wasn't at fault and the hotel isn't responsible for maintaining the grounds. In short I recommend the Pacific Islands Club. The service was great, the room was clean and cozy.

  • Disliked — condition of the room and the dedication to poor service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triathelete671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We got back from there just few days ago. The hotel is not so bad, very simple. The beach was nice, the stuff is friendly. They clean rooms every day and very good. I can't say that it's a great place but have to remember that it's not a 5-stars hotel!. Breakfast was the same every day: eggs, omlett, fruits, juice.. Actually it was also not so bad. The location is a bit far from center but they have a free taxi till the DFS what locates there, so you can always go there by taxi or bus(which is also for free).

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
7.6 mi away
Aqua Resort Club Saipan
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Saipan
Hyatt Regency Saipan
#1 of 36 in Saipan
620 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Kensington Hotel Saipan
Kensington Hotel Saipan
#1 of 2 in San Roque
17 reviews
3.8 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#7 of 36 in Saipan
82 reviews
3.3 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 6 in Garapan
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanoa Resort Saipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanoa Resort Saipan

Property: Kanoa Resort Saipan
Address: Beach Rd. | Susupe, 96950, Mariana Islands (Formerly Saipan Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanoa Resort Saipan 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure.Comfort.Kanoa Nestled on Saipan's finest stretch of white, sandy beach, the Kanoa Resort Saipan offers the best of both worlds with a comfortable, tropical ambience that transports the soul to pure relaxation, yet equally stimulates with its proximity to the area's vibrant shopping and entertainment. Beautiful surroundings combined with a friendly 'Hafa Adai' service have made Kanoa Resort Saipan a truly unique resort hotel with local flavor and hospitality. All 224 guest rooms offer pleasing comfort and most feature breathtaking ocean views, bringing glimpses of sea and sand. Décor is warm yet refined, naturally complementing the setting. Rooms in the Emerald Tower offer a spacious setting, with one of the largest room sizes on island. Located just steps from the beach, two pools span half the length of the hotel and boasts rich blue "lagoon-like" waters and numerous relaxing lounges. The festive-hued waterslides also add a spark of fun and excitement to the landscape. The resort's gorgeous beachfront is continually regarded as one of Saipan's best and is lined with colorful umbrellas along the sand. Various dining options include the Isla Cafe & Terrace and the oceanfront Barefoot Beach BBQ with a tropical island show featuring local dancers performing traditional and Polynesian dances. The hotel's 330 square meters of meeting and function space can accommodate groups up to 200 guests and offers numerous function capabilities. This area is conveniently located in its own section of the resort. Children may enjoy fun in the sun at the resort's Kids Fun Zone. Activities include a poolside playroom, bouncy house, and interactive games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanoa Resort Saipan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing