We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“updates by a regular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Holiday Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“updates by a regular”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not much has changed in Saipan or at The Summer Holiday. Room rates were about 55 US$, ample parking, free wifi, free coffee in the lobby in the morning. Cable tv is imited to a few channels, TVs are small and old.

But I still enjoy my stay due to location, price and staff quality. Thai and Korean Restaurants and McDonalds are located right behind the Hotel on beach road, Marthas 24 hr minimart is beside the hotel also.

Ill be back again.....

Room Tip: get a room on the 1st floor, no elevator so steps are taken to 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Please, if you get here and they put you in room 105 turn around and find somewhere else to stay. I stayed here for 5 days, the initial shock wore off but it was still very basic. I guess the price is low enough to make some difference but on the whole I would not return. There are better rooms, an if you are lucky to get one of those you'll probably be happy with your stay. Wifi is free but very poor in room 105, and if you log on in the lobby be sure to put bug spray on...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saipan hotels

Irvine, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

ive stayed at the summer holiday off and on for over 10 years. as of sept 2011 it was still 55 a night. the wifi is free, although a little slow. staff is nice and the rooms are always clean. they could do some ugrades like tvs and paint but for the price its a pretty nice place. 24 hr store is next door and all the shops in garapan are walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Now, I've been to Saipan several times and have always stayed at one of the larger hotels. But since I was traveling with my grandmother, she insisted we stay at the Summer Holiday, which is her regular Saipan hotel. Anyways, the hotel is next to the Federal Court building and the Garapan Church. The beach is across the road from the hotel. There is a Thai restaurant in the building right in front of the hotel. I recommend staying on the third floor. You can see the beach from your hotel door entrance.

Now for the hotel room. The hotel room is worth every penny. It isn't fancy but it is very comfortable. The beds, pillows are comfortable. There is a little kitchenette with a built-in electric stove, over-head vent w/ light, a mini-fridge, and a sink. It isn't fancy but it is perfectly clean and workable. There is a balcony that goes onto the shared lanai area. It is very windy during the day and the night. The hotel comes equipped with fresh water in a pitcher in the refrigerator, and a little bar of soap in the bathroom. The bathroom is not fancy at all, it has 60's decor and definitely needs a remodel, but the bathroom is clean except maybe the floor of the bathtub but it isn't that bad.

The only bad turnoff about this hotel is that the water that comes out of the faucet is salty. Saipan lacks an aquifer system therefore the water is salty. But some other hotels have water purifiers that take out the salt. But the water is manageable.

There is also a Thai massage parlor on the second floor of the hotel and they charge something like $10 for an hour. HEAVEN!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aguarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
0.5 mi away
Himawari Hotel
Himawari Hotel
#12 of 36 in Saipan
64 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace
Hotel Sun Palace
#27 of 36 in Saipan
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 6 in Garapan
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
#25 of 36 in Saipan
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#6 of 36 in Saipan
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Holiday Hotel

Property: Summer Holiday Hotel
Address: Alaihai Ave | P.O. Box 500908, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summer Holiday Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Summer Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing