We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Disgraceful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himawari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Himawari Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room and furniture is in very very poor condition. Room and fixtures are covered in mould and no attempt has been made to clean or reduce the amount of mould. There is so much mould it is a health hazard. The pictures speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kentaro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
10
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I spent two nights here while in Saipan. Since I was planning to go touring for most of the time I decided on a basic hotel since I only needed it for the bed at night. If sightseeing is your main goal then this hotel is fine... don't expect a fancy room and pool. It is a basic hotel geared towards Japanese visitors, with the grocery store and sushi restaurant. Perfect for those on frugal holidays that want to buy their own food and eat in as opposed to going out to more expensive restaurants. It is a 10 minute walk to the beach, but it's not a problem. The staff is friendly. The airport shuttle is free and the rooms are clean but basic. The only downside for me was the lack of hot water for my showers... I did get up later than most so maybe taking a shower at 7AM instead of 8:30AM might have made a difference.

Basic hotel, but for the money it was a good value. I recommend it to budget minded
travelers..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I read all the reviews and decided on the Himawari - I made the right choice. The location is above a grocery store and fantastic sushi restaurant. The beach is a 5 minute walk, as are many restaurants and shops. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms all have wifi, the shower has hot and cold water with good water pressure, it was clean, quiet and inexpensive. I stayed 2 nights and they provided airport transport both directions at no extra charge. The rooms are practical, not fancy - and the shop below, besides grocery items, sells fresh baked breads which were soooo delicious and Japanese meals - they even have a microwave for customer use and fresh brewed coffee. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Himawari is a little hotel built atop a Japanese grocery store located in a quiet residential street 2 streets aways from the main strip in Saipan. To get to the room, you walk through the grocery store to a door in the back that leads to a well-lit and well-ventilated staircase up to the rooms

The rooms are very basic with mismatched furnishings - but large and clean. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel. While I initially had problems with the password provided in the check-in instructions, this was quickly solved by the Japanese manager who gave me a couple other passwords to try. There are also a couple washing machines for use (not sure the cost) and airport pickup / drop-off is available for free for those who stay a minimum of 2 nights. I communicated with the hotel by email before the trip and they were quick and informative in all their responses.

As the hotel is built on top of a grocery store, it's really convenient when you need to pick up drinks / food / supplies. The grocery store has a bakery attached that sells fresh baked breads, and a cooked-food section that sells soups, tempura, onigiri and Japanese-style meals (rice with meat/fish and a side). There is a microwave next to the cashier to heat up the food and you can bring whatever is bought to eat in the Japanese restaurant a few paces away. The grocery store is well patronised by locals who come in in a constant stream to pick up groceries from early morning till closing at 11pm.

As the hotel is only a few hundred meters away from the main strip, exploring the area on foot is easy and restaurants / shops are within easy reach.

This is a great litlle hotel for the budget traveller with all the necessary conveniences provided.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
0.3 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
0.6 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 6 in Garapan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#7 of 36 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#5 of 36 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Saipan
Hyatt Regency Saipan
#1 of 36 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aqua Resort Club Saipan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himawari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himawari Hotel

Property: Himawari Hotel
Address: PMB 252, Box 10003, 96950-8903, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Himawari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Himawari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing