We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable Stay By the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Saipan
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay By the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a side trip on our around the world trip. My husband wanted to come here for all the great history and we definitely found it. The CKBH is a small family style motel on the affordable side. Our room was clean, with great housekeeping. The shower pressure was good. We had a front porch, with one chair but used our desk chair without issue. The location was off the beach, a bit remote but this was also something we liked. We would walk the beach for miles and not see anyone. We enjoyed snorkeling off the beach and finding the WWII history, still preserved in the water. We walked to a small grocery store and that was all we needed. We had a small fridge in the room. We went on a great private tour organized by the front desk… Crispina was a wonderful hostess for our stay. She always had a smile on her face, with a great positive attitude. The small restaurant was a local breakfast spot, well-deserved. We would also enjoy walking down the beach to a large hotel for drinks and food. We are walkers, as it was a nice hike. We would recommend this property for a place to stay to enjoy the history of Saipan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
9
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I am sincerely confused about the reviews that rate this place above a "poor" rating. Sure, it's more affordable than other hotels in Saipan...but...it is NOT worth it. They advertise wifi in the rooms...BUT THERE IS ONLY WIFI IN THE LOBBY.
I was traveling here with 2 other co-workers, and we each had our own rooms. 1 coworker walked in and found roaches in her room. Another tried to take a shower, and NO WATER CAME OUT. Then, when we reconvened after putting our things in our rooms, as we were walking to the lobby to use the wifi---a rat scattered by us. That's right...a rat.
The rooms smell musty.
They have a lovely pool area, and the beach is a hop skip and a jump away...but that's it.
We had breakfast at the Hawaii Five-O restaurant on the grounds, and the coffee is amazing.
But we literally spent one night in the hotel and asked to cancel the rest of our reservations. (We'd booked for 6 nights.) The manager on duty was PERFECTLY lovely. She was so nice, but it was quite frustrating to try to cancel with her.
The cancellation policy was that you had to cancel 1 week in advance. She wanted to charge us for 3 nights. I refused. I tried to tell her that they'd falsely advertised free wifi in the rooms, and that one room didn't have running water. She tried to tell us that we should have called maintenance. To which I replied--"We got in at midnight, we were tired and wanted to go to bed. Calling maintenance wasn't realistic for us."
She kept talking about the cancellation policy...so, I finally said...
"I understand the cancellation policy, however, just on business principles...when a business promises something, and doesn't deliver...there has to be something that can be done."
We finally negotiated only paying for 2 days.
She said she was sorry several times, and even afterwards told us about the open market that happens every thursday night. She really was quite kind about everything.

I'm sorry to say this but stay away from this hotel. It's truly, truly atrocious, and you won't be very happy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saipan hotels

Noosa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel but checked out the rooms, they have standard hotel rooms as well as 2 Brm suites with kitchen and living area, they are basic but so cute and the atmosphere of the place is "old world islander", they offer amazing discounts for stays of 1 week or more and if you get breakfast included its even better value. As we had already booked our accommodation elsewhere we chose to come to CKBC almost everyday for breakfast as the food is so great and cheap at their little restaurant and nicer than the offerings at our $17 per head buffet where we were staying. We also played tennis a few times and they have a great deal where they deduct the cost of your tennis ($10 pp) from your food bill making it free to play. We loved happy hour here, they have an amazing deal for $12 inc a choice of appertizers and comes with 3 beers! We odered 3 of the appertizers which fed our family of four for dinner and had so many beers (9) we ended up taking half of them home! All for $36 and the kids played tennis while we sat and watched the sunset. Next time I'm in Saipan ( we return every other year) we're booking in here for our entire stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susieQNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Some pretty rough reviews for this place, mostly undeserved. Folks, if you want the high rise Hyatt and the trappings that come with it, then write that check. It never ceases to amaze me when folks book budget locations and then slam them when they do not receive Marriott type accommodations. ( I am platinum with Marriott and enjoyed our stay) The adage "you get what you pay for" is particularly pertinent in the hotel industry.

We elected to extend our Saipan vacation, but had to change hotels due to room availability. We found Chalan Kanoa had room so we gave them a shot. When you pull up to the property, the neighborhood is not the best and we had some initial doubts.(you will probably want a rental car as there is not much around) They quickly went away. The rooms are basic but very comfortable. We had a two twin beds and a sitting area with a couch Some of the larger rooms have kithchenettes. The a/c worked great, bathroom was clean, had a fridge to keep our drinks cold and ESPN...when the tv worked. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice. The hotel is used mostly by divers, as there is a dive shop attached to the property and they get their intro lessons in the pool. . The restaraunt (5-0 Cafe) serves very good food with some very diverse offerings. I listened to our server and tried the Filipino and Asian offerings and loved everthing .Everything is homemade to order. Our room came with breakfast and it also was very good. They menu prices are so very reasonable and we found ourselves eating many of our meals here instead of in town. They have a fun Happy Hour at 5pm each day.(they do a mean Bloody Mary in the mornings!)) There is a very secluded beach a short 1 minute walk through a park. During the week we did not see a person on the beach. Water is crystal clear and the sand is that fine white sand that is so nice to walk on. We sat out there in the evenings with a bottle of wine and watched the amazing stars at night. The staff at Chalan could not have been nicer. They were so friendly and helped us with our tour questions, arranged for a rental car for us, and constantly checked on us to make sure our stay was going well. We are planning a return trip to Saipan and Rota later this year and Chalan Kanoa has just become our hotel of choice. It is also only 5 minutes from the airport. The value for your money here is just outstanding. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The Happy Hour deal is a steal. Comes with enough food to make your dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed this hotel just one night in March this year. Stuff were all friendly and nice however room was horrable. Not only old and dark but also their bedding had blood stain on the sheets. I guess motel 6 is much better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 day and had to move to another hotel downtown. Rooms are very small and beds are small and hard. It has a nice beach but location is far from downtown area where are the nice restaurants are. I suggest staying in another hotel located in Garapan area.

Room Tip: Stay in Garapan area there are lots of restaurants bars and shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutiferific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for four nights December 2012 and enjoyed our stay. Your choices in Saipan are really expensive, really cheap, or like this one, somewhere in between. The hotel is located a few miles from Garapan so if you want to walk from your hotel to shopping and restaurants you don't want to stay here, although the best restaurant we found on the island was literally a few blocks away (Truongs Vietnemese Restaurant). The suite we purchased had a kitchen, large fridge, balcony, and two very comfortable beds. We also paid a little extra for breakfast each morning which was very good. You must try the Five-o sausage.

The hotel is located down a public beach road and is about 100 yards from the beach. The beach is nice for sunning and taking walks. The sand is as fine as any in the world. The water is shallow and would be ideal for small children and there is absolutely no one on the beach. You could snorkel here but there are many other beaches that are better. The hotels pool is clean and also would be nice for children. So if this meets your needs you would like this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and it would easily sleep a five person family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saipan hotels
0.0 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#5 of 35 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Resort Club Saipan
0.0 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Saipan
Hyatt Regency Saipan
#1 of 35 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Himawari Hotel
Himawari Hotel
#10 of 35 in Saipan
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Islands Club
Pacific Islands Club
#6 of 35 in Saipan
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel

Property: Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel
Address: | P.O. Box 504272, 96950, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Saipan
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Chalan Kanoa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalan Kanoa Beach Club Hotel Saipan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing