We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot near Altoona, Pa.!”
Review of The Wine Cellar

The Wine Cellar
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Gallitzin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great spot near Altoona, Pa.!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have heard from a lot of people that there are few good restaurants in Altoona. Here is one that is really only about 15 minutes from altoona, and the food is wonderful. It's located in the basement of someone's house (a ranch house to boot), but don't let that fool you. The food is great. We started with the drunken mushrooms. These are to die for. Mushrooms are sauteed in wine with green onions and there is garlic bread added to the mixture. Yum! Doesn't sound like much, but it was great. My wife had the flat iron steak, which was done to perfection and I had the gnocchi, which is hand made. Sauce is definitely home made as are the meat balls. Wonderful. My wife had a side of spaghetti, which was also great. The entrees come with your typical salad (could be better using lettuce other than iceberg). They serve a number of dressings and do serve red roquefort, which you don't find too many places. Service was great and very attentive. Garlic bread is also served with dinner. It too hits the mark. We'll definitely go back to try some of the other items on their menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Certainly a pleasant experience.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A little unusual. A restaurant in the basement of a residential house. Why not, the food was excellent. We visited this eatery after reading the good reviews from Tripadvisor. The reviews were accurate. We both had seafood over pasta. Mine was shrimp and my wife had scallops. We both must say, extremely good food in this quite small Pennsylvania city at a fair price. Certainly a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The wine cellar has great food at very reasonable prices.Last night my wife and I both had the
Haddock with wine sauce it was excellent as always.it was what we went there for,although the eggplant parm,and the hanger steak are also raves too.We'll be back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gnocchi heaven!!!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Favorite place to take people visiting from out of area. Where else can you get a Valewood tea and amazing Italian food

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food, Unique Setting Like No Other!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our B&B hostess highly recommended this somewhat unusual restaurant, located in the basement of the owner's house, Although a somewhat limited menu, everything is home made by the owner herself and it's simply delicious! Call ahead because locals have made this a very busy on Friday & Saturday nights.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rickgmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Cellar also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing