We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food competes with the view and wins!”
Review of Waterbar

Waterbar
Ranked #112 of 5,857 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Beach
Cross street: Harrison
Description: Waterbar is located on the South end of Rincon Park on San Francisco's scenic Embarcadero. If you're looking for a San Francisco restaurant with a view, Waterbar features panoramic views of the Bay and San Francisco skyline serving the freshest seafood.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

My husband and I came here on a Tuesday, with early reservations made that same day. Upon arrival, we waited about 10 minutes before being seated. It was worth the wait as our table was right up against a window facing the bay. We ordered the crab cocktail to split. Plenty of fresh crab to share and the cocktail sauce was superb. My husband had the salmon while I ordered the seabass. They were both excellent and I think the salmon may have been the best prepared piece we've ever tasted - it simply melted in your mouth. The service was impeccable. Once the wallet recovers, we will be back for sure.

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank Maya002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 612 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2016

Fresh and large selection of sea food, great selection of oysters. Wonderful view and cool breeze. Don't forget to make rservations

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michaelbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

1st visit to this waterfront venue. Quite simply - great food, good service, excellent wine list.
Its on my favourites list as of now

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Wonderful seafood in a lovely location. Sat outside under the Bay Bridge, which has all kinds of decorative lighting at night. Seafood was great, wonderful service. Don't miss it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We booked the restaurant on a whim while travelling in San Francisco. The food was absolutely stunning. The freshest sea food ever. The wine list was great too. The manager came and had a chat with us about England, wine and oysters. It really felt like such a personal experience and the service was brilliant. After leaving we then got engaged outside on the waterfront, next to the bay bridge, so there was definitely something special about it! Thank you for making our night so memorable.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank CaraL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Waterbar also viewed

 

Been to Waterbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.