We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy a beer and a dozen Oysters.”
Review of Waterbar

Waterbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 5,715 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Harrison
Description: Waterbar is located on the South end of Rincon Park on San Francisco's scenic Embarcadero. If you're looking for a San Francisco restaurant with a view, Waterbar features panoramic views of the Bay and San Francisco skyline serving the freshest seafood.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy a beer and a dozen Oysters.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very busy and lots of Atmosphere. Great view of the Oakland Bridge. We enjoyed a few beers and lots of Oysters. We went for pre dinner drinks but liked the place so much we went there for lunch the next day. The food overall in San Francisco is disappointing. The best meals we had were here, Epic Roast House next door, Hakkasan (amazing) and the Cheesecake Factory at the top of Macy's.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AP2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    317
    88
    38
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot on the water”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Great service. Our food was prepared and presented perfectly.
It is nice to have a drink and hors d'oeuvre outside with dinner inside

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

we loved sitting on the patio in the afternoon and enjoying great oysters. Nice place for a break from walking and sightseeing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect meal, perfect evening!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Several years ago, we had eaten at Waterbar's sister restaurant next door, Epic Roasthouse, and had a fabulous meal, so we were highly anticipating our dinner at Waterbar. Waterbar did not disappoint (the maître de said "We're just going to have to show you why we are better," referring to Epic, and I have to believe this friendly competition between these restaurants keeps them both striving for excellence)! Waterbar is a seafood restaurant with a wide range of fresh fish specialties, like Dungeness crab and lobster, and a separate chilled shellfish menu, featuring five types of oysters. Every aspect of our meal, from appetizer to dessert, presentation to taste, was superb! The location adjacent to, with a view of the San Francisco-Oakland Bay bridge is really cool. This executive chef-designed restaurant highlights the view with ample, tall windows, well placed seating, and fun accoutrements like two floor-to-ceiling, cylindrical aquariums. Sunset seating is coveted, and we made our reservation using Open Table four days in advance. The bridge has been fitted with dancing LED lights that portray murals and patterns that are spectacular to watch as evening approaches.

But the secret ingredient that perfected our evening was our personable, knowledgeable, attentive waiter, Jim L!! When we first arrived to check in, both the hostess and maître de had stepped away, and Jim, who was nearby, saw us waiting, and took it upon himself to come over and greet us and begin the check in process. As it turned out, he would also be our waiter. That level of initiative to help us with something that was not "his job" truly impressed us. Throughout the evening, Jim provided excellent service, as well as answered our numerous questions about the workings of the kitchen (which we had a good view from our booth) and the history and design of Waterbar.

We truly enjoyed our perfect evening at this fabulous restaurant! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food with a view!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Spent a perfect evening at Waterbar during a whirlwind "girl's getaway" to San Francisco. Our waiter indulged my interest in Waterbar's commitment to "farm to table" and "sustainable seafood" practices. Our food tasted fresh and delicious while the wine was well paired by the bartender. We enjoyed the lively atmosphere and the gorgeous view of the sunset over the bay!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterbar also viewed

 

Been to Waterbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing