We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun place w. Great seafood”

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #14 of 5,641 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Monument, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fun place w. Great seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This place is fun, and good. As others have said, the seafood is great. And sitting at the counter is fun, as is visiting with fellow customers. Place has character!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank aerotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    419
    95
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

we were just in San Francisco for a few hours before our flight. we stopped in for lunch. the place was packed. it had a great atmosphere and down home feel. the servers were so friendly. we ordered the soup and seafood pasta dishes. they were all large, very flavorful and inexpensive. It was a great place. Dont expect white linens and fancy tables. this is a Diner type place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albertantexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Decided to check out Trip Advisor for a good Seafood restaurant while we were in San Francisco and Sotto Mare stood out straight away. We made a reservation and arrived at 8:00pm and was greeted by the owner who welcomed us like long lost friends. All the staff made a fuss of the kids and even though it was full they took time out to chat to us and ask us where we were from. I went for the east coast and west coast oysters to start with and everyone else had prawn cocktails. We had Cioppino as our main course and the children shared the seafood risotto which was fantastic. There was a really good noisy atmosphere as the restaurant is long and thin with room to also sit and eat at the Bar. It seemed really popular with the locals and everyone seemed to know each other. We had a great night and would definitely go back if we return to SF.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious scallops & prawns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We ate at this modest-looking place last week - recommended by our guide on the City Guides tour of North Beach (also great). It was lively and teeming when we entered the long narrow room, with people crammed at the counter on the left and filling the tables on the right. The table was small and the "napkins" were a roll of paper towels ! But - the food was sublime. I had the scallops and prawns with a delicious garlic sauce, and golden beets and spinach - one of the best meals I have ever had. The service was good too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PipAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

A must stop for me when I am in the city. Great Bloody Mary's and fantastic food. I had the dungenes crab Benedict. You cannot go wrong, super fast service also.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing