We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #14 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
473 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Very good shellfish, generous portions of very good shellfish. Good reasonable wine and excellent, friendly service. The place is casual and crowded but excellent. In my top three for Bay Area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    419
    95
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My huband and I made this our first stop after a flight from frigid Chicago. We skipped the food for purchase on the plane so that we would be able to eat our fill. And fill we did! After reading many favourable reviews, the cioppino did not disappoint. Succulent crab, calamare, mussels and clams, the penne and broth was superb. No skimping on the portions for Sotto Mare. We went away extremely satisfied and ready to explore San Francisco. Truly the Best Damn Cioppino in the City!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellently prepared, no-frills fresh seafood”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We first went to this place a few years ago, and on our way out from a skiing vacation at Lake Tahoe, we stopped here for lunch on our last day before flying back to DFW. It was just as we remembered it: expertly prepared local seafood. Two from our party shared a wedge salad, and they really liked it. My wife and I shared 1/2 dozen raw oysters (don't recall the name, but they were from Washington state). Ice cold, big, and briney. They were delicious. Our appetites were not ravenous due to a late and large breakfast, so the 4 of us split 2 orders of sand dabs. These are a local specialty, and they're apparently very small (filets are smaller than small tilapia filets) and flounder like. Lightly seasoned and a very light breadcrumb dusting before being sauteed to perfection. Each order had approximately 8 or 9 filets with a side of garlicy sauteed chard. Accompanied by a couple glasses of white wine, sitting outside on a sunny San Francisco afternoon. Service was helpful and responsive yet unobtrusive. One of my favorite seafood restaurants anywhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregcarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good but not incredible. Everything was yummy. The staff was beyond awesome. They are 5 stars. Would go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shuggsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood in San Francisco!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I found out about Sotto Mare from an SF native who happened to be sitting next to me at another great SF restaurant where I had a previous dinner. Sotto Mare was fabulous! There were no tables inside so I had dinner on their outdoor patio - good thing it was a lovely November night! The oysters where devine! My main meal - scallops with veggies was delicious! Overall, an excellent meal!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing