We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Joint”

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #14 of 5,641 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Italian Joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed lunch at this charming eatery. Get seated by 11:30am if you do not want to wait in line. The west coast oysters were well priced at $1.50 each. The chilled crabs were sweet. The clam broth was very good with huge juicy and fresh clams. The broth was a tad too salty. The fettuccine with bay scallops was great but again too salty. Overall it was a good quality lunch that was well priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    419
    95
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coluumbus, Ga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The place for cioppino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our first dinner in San Francisco and the cioppino for two was perfect. It was loaded with crabs, mussels, shrimp and calamari. There was very good bread to go with it and the $6. merlot house red was a fine accompaniment. This North Beach restaurant is very small and doesn't take reservations for fewer than 3 people so you might need to go early or plan to sit at the bar where you can watch the cooks at work. I'm writing this on a cold, rainy December afternoon and I certainly wish I had a bowl of the cioppino right now. If I'm in San Francisco again, I will be returning to Sotto Mare.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cphillside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“For well-prepared, fresh seafood try Sotto Mare in North Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Eager to find another great restaurant in San Francisco, we followed a friend's recommendation and booked reservations at Gigi's Sotto Mare Restaurant at 552 Green Street in North Beach. Known for having really fresh seafood and 'the best damn cioppino' albeit in a small and unpretentious setting, Sotto Mare lived up to our every expectation.

Our party of six enjoyed the cioppino (plenty for 2-3 people), the risotto, linguine with manilla clams, sea scallops and for the non-seafood lover in the group, pasta with a rich pesto sauce. Everyone was very happy with their meals - the only mild complaint from one member of our group was that the food could have arrived hotter, though I didn't notice any problem with the food temperature.

My scallops were the best I've ever had, and plentiful; I think there were 9 big scallops, served in a delicious, rich, garlicy sauce. I'd definitely recommend Sotto Mare to anyone looking for a great, not touristy, seafood restaurant in San Francisco!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer100SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Get the Sand Dabs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have a craving for some seafood and this place hit the spot. First time ever having Sand Dabs and they were delicious. Restaurant was small but has a nice long bar if you don't mind sitting at the tabletop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood lovers should seek this put”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just amazing. Half the fun was sitting at the bar and watching the team cook. We're from Louisiana and eat a lot of seafood. This was a terrific meal. The cioppino was fresh and flavorful and packed with seafood. If we weren't leaving, I'd eat there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDEBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing