We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bowled over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #14 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bowled over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere and great servings. The cioppino was great and highly recommended. It is more than enough for two people. Unless they have huge appetites. No one wanted to share anything they ordered with me, so I didn't share my cioppino and I had to nearly roll out of the restaurant. Service was great and we were there prime time (7pm) on a busy, busy Friday night. You want to eat there, you have to call for reservations or be condemned to wait in line and drool over the great food being delivered to all the tables and the fragrance of bread and food in the air. The manager was friendly, gracious and welcoming. We had a wonderful time. There is only street parking. Highly recommend the municipal parking structure a block and a half away next to a police station. Do NOT use the Broadway lots because they are a major tourist rip off ($20-$25). My suggestion is to drop off your guests at the restaurant to hold the reservation and park and then walk over, unless everyone has time to walk over. But if you miss this restaurant in SFO, you're really missing out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank THSHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,308
    417
    93
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chico,ca
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reservations a must if you want a table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We called for reservations and were told they were booked, but if we came between 5-5:30 we'd be seated. We found out that means the counter tables. We opted to wait for an outside table and were given a glass of wine to ease the wait. Their best dish, Cioppino is not at all traditional. More of a creamy seafood sauce over pasta in a pot than a stew. Really tasty. The Combo "Louie" salad was every bit as good as Swans Oyster House. We opted to share dishes as the plates are more than a singe serving. Desert is not served, but the bakery on the corner serves awesome Tiramisu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catravlerChico_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very busy, noisy restaurant but we had seats at the bar and were able to watch the chefs cooking the meals - very entertaining and educational. We had the cioppino that was every bit as good as advertised!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpotAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been better-bad service, cruddy atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The waitress disappeared after she took our order. The food was fresh, but was not prepared with all ingredients, per the menu. The aisle is small and a woman who was standing and chatting with a patron at the bar had her back side too close while my husband was eating at a table. Ewwww.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyvacations1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No frills, just good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a perfect spot to rest and enjoy a good beer and delicious lunch. Casual and delicious, will go back to this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pc_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing