We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great fish restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #15 of 5,629 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“A great fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant is frequented by locals & tourists.
The fish is bought fresh daily, so it's very popular.
You cannot book so get there early.
If you have to wait you are given a complimentary glass of wine which is a lovely touch.
Fish choices range from the local Sand Dabs to Rex Sole etc. all served with seasonal veg.
The veg was delicious served al dente.
We had two types of oysters which were so fresh & delicious.
We thought the restaurant was excellent value for money for the quality of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,308
    417
    93
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“North Beach's version of Cheers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Local hangout; possible long wait time for table, but they give you (free) wine while you wait. Good food, and reasonable prices for location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMS_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium, Europe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great buzz, perfect crab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant with our 10month old daughter in a stroller. The restaurant is rather small, but the friendly staff helped us perfectly to find a good place. Next time we would prefer to come without our daugther, because the restaurant is very noizy, but in a positive way... Vibrant!
The decorations are totally what you expect from a good seafood restaurant: full with fish memorabilia on the walls.
We wanted to eat crab, and took the speciality of the house: 'the best crab in town' for 2 persons. This was on of the best seafood dishes i ever ate, and perfect , European sized portions for 2.
Ask for a table at the back if you want to have a nice overview of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxyJaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
364 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Seafood Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We read the TA reviews before deciding to try this place. It really does live up to the hype. The decor is unpretentious, a few tables outside, a large counter space inside with lots of stools and a few tables as well. But, you don't go there for the ambiance. You go for great food! We had the Cioppino. It was chock full of mussels, clams, calamari, shrimp, scallops and some penne pasta in the most divine red sauce. We sopped up every drop of sauce with the bread and butter which accompanied the meal. We have hearty appetites and it was enough for the two of us. All of the seafood dishes that went by looked appealing but I think it would be hard not to order the Cioppino again next time we visit. It was that good. If you're in the mood for seafood with an Italian flare---try Sotto Mare.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sotto Mare - Great Cioppino. Best meal in San Fran.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We happened to stumble upon this restaurant by chance. My fiancee and I were sitting across the road in a wine bar and were discussing dinner plans for our second night in San Fran and we noticed Sotto Mare. We had a look on TA and saw all of the great reviews so decided to make a reservation. Trust me - believe the hype - it's worth it! Great seafood and the Cioppino (fish stew) will easily be enough for 2 but you may want more. They played old classics in the background which added to the ambience. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James_E_Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing