We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely little family restaurant, but loud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #15 of 5,533 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little family restaurant, but loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We made a reservation (a must if you can swing it), and we were glad we did because the restaurant was packed. The food was wonderful, and our server was fantastic. We'd definitely go back again. As an aside, just be aware the restaurant is not large (so not particularly good for large groups) and loud (so not the place for an intimate dinner). Nevertheless, fun and tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    401
    88
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great seafood selections ~ Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I stopped by here for lunch yesterday while walking around North beach and we both had the combination seafood salad with shrimp and fresh crab meat. There was no wait to be seated. We sat at the counter. The service was friendly and promp and the food was delicious! Generous portions. Good menu choices. They are well known for the Cioppino for two but there was no way we could eat that much! Great atmosphere and outdoor seating in a great neighborhood. Great day trip to the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sactrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Busy in North Beach area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is clearly a place frequented by locals. While waiting for a table I chatted with people who go there every week.
It is a good idea to arrive early as seating is limited but definitely worth the wait!
I enviously eyed the Cioppino as it was being served but definitely needs 2 people who want to eat a lot.
They only take reservations for parties of 3 or more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cwalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great spot - felt like locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had to wait for 45 minutes to get in, as most peole do, then got a spot at the counter. It's a busy restaurant that's full of life and good food.

We shared the Cioppino between two, and as the menu says - its more than big enough for two. It was deliscious and full of a variety of fish and seafood.

We washed this down with wine and a beer and the lovely bread they give you to mop it all up.

A great, lively place that serves good food without pretention. Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood at a friendly neighborhood spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are already numerous reviews touting the delicious cioppino and describing the fun waiting in line with the crowd while enjoying a glass of wine. This review will highlight lesser praised food choices and cite the advantages of going at an "off" time when NO ONE is there. Having left a daytime Giants game and riding the Muni to avoid traffic and parking costs, it was a perfect opportunity to leave AT&T Park congestion and head to North Beach to beat the crowds. At 5pm there were few people in the restaurant and NO line. Starting at this early hour you get immediate service and a more relaxed chance to "schmooze," if you choose. Sitting at the counter you get a great view of the range as each delectable dish is fired. I thoroughly enjoyed the fresh oysters (only $1.50 per for West Coast, less expensive than the Wharf or Embarcadero dining options) and marveled at the succulent scallops in my pasta dish--translucent and cooked perfectly! Can't wait to return to sample more items. . maybe next time to stand in line with a lot of "new friends."

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccorpuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing