We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like they say "best damn cioppino"”

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #15 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Grapevine
Level Contributor
307 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Like they say "best damn cioppino"”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Go early and split the Cioppino ...sorry Gigi. It was wonderfully prepared by a chef that you can watch if you take a seat at the end of the counter. Great seat for the foodies. They also have tables out front. This place is rich with history and great food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCSfoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    429
    97
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food but not relaxing, if that is what you want too”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were super excited about this restaurant and the lady who took our reservation was nice. We went on a Tuesday night and it very busy, people were outside waiting. If you do go, you may wait awhile and it is absolutely crazy inside due to the narrow space and just how busy it is. The staff now this and even have a sign that reads "welcome to chaos"! ;-) It was SO SO loud, and I found that not relaxing at all. I am sure the staff are nice, but they were so busy that to me it felt short and not super warm. If there was a comparable seafood place that was more relaxing I would have gladly chosen that one over this place. Just one time at this place and it just may not be my style. Food was good, but I am not sure way better than any other seafood place??

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limencello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cioppino!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place has amazing Cioppino!!!! Such FRESH sea food!!! We sat outside and were able to people watch as we ate and drank. Can't wait to get back to visit again. It appears to be a small very friendly Italian family owned restaurant. We loved it and will certainly return next time we are in San Francisco.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Twice in one week!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent our honeymoon in San Francisco, this was our first visit to this great city. Certainly won't be our last! We checked Trip Advisor for some restaurants to try and we found Sotto Mare! What a find! We enjoyed our first dinner so much we went back again the night before we flew home. On both occasions we were warmly greeted by the lovely hostess who could be a stand in for Lorraine Bracco. She greeted us and offered us some wine as we waited for our table. Once seated, we were waited on quickly. Both times we shared the appetizer of steamed clams and one of the best entrees ever, the cioppino! Crusty, delicious Italian bread accompanied the entire meal and we brought our own wine (this is a BYOB). The cioppino was the best! Lots of seafood in a spicy (but not too spicy) red sauce...more than enough to satisfy our appetites. All the while the restaurant is busy, with people coming and going and a great place to people watch...but you go for the food, go for the cioppino! We highly recommend Sotto Mare! Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I wanted to love this place, but didn't. The seafood linguine was good. The seafood is fresh but the sauce lacked seasoning. It was loud, crowded and HOT on a night that required a heavy jacket outside. The wedge salad was not edible. The crab Louie salad was fair. The shrimp cocktail was mushy. It was not horrible but I won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank micahlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing