We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food.”

Nick's Crispy Taco's
Ranked #665 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Best chips and salsa i have ever had! Add the quacamole to make it even better! Tacos are good and pretty big. Two per person should fill you up! Drinks are reasonably priced...Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    9
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Popular but overrated.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place is loved by locals who are, it seems, misguided. Sure, the tacos and sundry other Mexican items are very good. But they're not the best available, and that means that they are not worth the absurd hassle it takes to eat at Nick's Crispy.

Finding a table is a royal pain. You can reserve one of the little booths around the bar and get table service, but those are hard to come by and if I want table service I'm going to go to a slightly higher-class establishment that will give me more than 2 shrimp in my shrimp taco.

If you are lucky enough to find a table to sit at, chances are it is not clean and not clear of the previous diners' mess. Perhaps worse, you will be watched like a hawk your entire meal by groups of orphaned taco-goers waiting to pounce on your table as you appear to finish your meal. Again, is this really worth it for tacos that are mostly shredded cabbage anyway? No. If you want amazing grimy Mexican food, go to the Mission. And if you want amazing classy Mexican food, there are other options in different neighborhoods around town. I just don't see the appeal here... seems more like the blind leading the blind than anything else.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liv2Travel_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great meal and a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went to Nick's with a friend who was a recent San Fran transplant. After a long hard day of watching football, it was a great spot close by to the bar where we were watching the game. You get a long of bang for your buck, and I wasn't even able to finish my burrito. It was clearly popular as the place was packed, but the service was quick, friendly, and the food was outstanding. I am definitely going back the next time I'm in San Francisco.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abbylok89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“You've got to know the history of this place to appreciate it”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

When you walk into Nick's, you'll wonder why there are red walls, crystal chandeliers, and a big bar on one side, and then there are tables and booths on the side where you order your inexpensive Mexican food. This place used to be a bar many years ago - Johnny Love's and then Rouge - that's why it looks like a bordello. The bar business died and in came Nicks and the owner did minimal remodeling/repairs (look up at the ceiling and you'll see poor patch work.) Nonetheless, good, quick food at reasonable prices especially for the neighborhood. It's a dive in so many ways, but in San Francisco, many dives serve the best food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for a casual meal and drink”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I don't know why people are saying this place is sketchy. Given the name, I was expecting sketchy, but we walked up to a large, nice building with a little counter for the tacos and a large bar area. The dark and red interior could use some work, but it didn't take anything away from the experience. The tacos were pretty good, I expected them to be better but they were fine. They offer a variety of tacos and then for a $1 you can get them Nick's Way (with one of the corn tortillas fried and guacamole). I probably wouldn't get them again though. The chips with the fresh salsa were delicious however and the bar had great happy hour specials (from 5-10 and I think it was Monday-Friday but it may just be Monday-Thursday). They have $10 pitchers of all beers, $18 pitchers of margaritas and I think $3 pints. Either way its a good place to go have a drink and watch sports. I'd definitely go again for happy hour, chips and salsa, and maybe try a burrito or something different as the main dish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Crispy Taco's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nick's Crispy Taco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing