We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Worldmark San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Worldmark San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Don't expect much from this little hotel, but it does provide everything it says it does. It's a comfortable room with a great location within walking distance to Chinatown and Union Square.

There staff is extremely nice and makes you feel comfortable during the stay. There are a few events in the lobby, like wine tastings in the afternoon on certain days. There is also a small gym right by the lobby, and a customer-use computer with a fireplace nearby that is very cozy.

The rooms are a good size - we stayed in a one bedroom with two full restrooms and a fold-out couch. There is a small kitchenette in the living room where coffee can be made and small meals. The room has glasses and compostable bowls and plates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    78
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A friend invited me to share a few days at her timeshare in San Francisco. We arrived via BART near Union Square, and after a brisk little walk up Powell, we were delighted to find this friendly, comfy corner near the heart of the city! Our one bedroom suite was cheery and had all we needed. Just a block to Chinatown, we enjoyed some fun shopping. An easy trolley ride to Pier 33 allowed us to board a boat headed to Alcatraz Island. Now a state park, Alcatraz Island is an adventure, with free access to an audio tour of the decommissioned prison and its grounds. One evening we took a taxi to Delancey Street Restaurant (google that one if not familiar!), and we also enjoyed a great Mexican restaurant just 1 1/2 blocks walks away, El Sotano. Cable Cars, Trolleys, Union Square, Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, great shopping... and no need for a car.

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor, over the street, and traffic noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTravelBug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here a week for business. I asked the client to put me up in a "non-chain" hotel.
This hit the mark. Great location, very friendly staff, nice lounge area. I had the bonus of being here during Palm Sunday. So the music from the French speaking Sunday mass next door was a pleasant surprise. No need for a car, everything is in walking distance or public transportation. Rooms are small compared to regular US chain hotel.

Room Tip: Outside room and above sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmh1635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is not a typical WorldMark resort property and WorldMark goes out of its way to let you know. It is a hotel in an older building (most hotels around union square are old) with small kitchens and extra living space. That said, its a fantastic location right above union square. But the best part of the property are the people. Helpful, courteous and appear to truly like what they are doing.

Be aware that some of the rooms are inside rooms and are very dark so if you want light, ask for an outside room.

Room Tip: If light is important be sure to get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphykds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I love the location of this hotel. Just a few steps from chinatown and union square, lots of shops and groceries in the vicinity. Rooms are a little small but its clean and nice. They have coffee/tea making facilities and microwave inside the room. Free coffee and tea all day at the lobby. Parking is a big problem since its located in the city center but the hotel do offer valet parking at around 30 us dollars. Staff are courteous and friendly. Overall, i like this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had 5 days here and enjoyed ourselves in San Francisco. The location here was the highlight - 1 block to Chinatown, 1 block to Cable Car, short walk to Union Square, Macys, a range of dining options etc. For an Aussie, the rooms were small but this is an old Hotel and as several have noted much bigher than some rooms in Europe I have stayed in. We had a 1 Br unit with separate eating area/lounge etc. Basic supplies for crockery and cutelry etc., microwave, coffee maker, small fridge etc. We combined eating home and out and it worked fine. Lori's Diner was a great experience. Our room did not face the street so it was quiet. Staff were generally very helpful and friendly. It is great to have a washing machine/dryer when travelling and there was a small gym as well. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jono13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a stay here and I couldn't have asked for more! The location was great since it was close to public transportaion that got us to anyplace our heart desired. We stayed in a one bedroom and it was the perfect size for us. The staff was amazing and helpful. Our flight didn't leave till after check out and when our cell phones died the front desk staff was too happy to charge it for us while we walked around the city. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was big enough for the both of us to get ready at the same time. We were on the 8th floor so we didn't hear too much noise from the city into our room. The only downfall is that the bathroom didn't have a fan vent but that won't stop us from visiting this property again. I'm very particular on where I stay when I am away from home and this place was just AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a high floored room, that may have been the reason why we didn't notice the city noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcruz914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,520 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,336 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark San Francisco

Property: Worldmark San Francisco
Address: 590 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3612
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Worldmark San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing