We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original Choice is crowded market”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bursa

Bursa
Ranked #613 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our wide range of flavorful mediterranean dishes are being cooked everyday with fresh produce, and our wine list includes excellent selections that match what pleases you. We are proud of who we are today and are obligated to serve you with warm hospitality at its best.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Original Choice is crowded market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived at 7pm on a Saturday and were notified it was a 30 minute wait. Given the bar was full, the owner took my cell while grabbing a drink down the street. A table opened early and he was courteous to hold our table for an extra 15 minutes so we could finish our drink.

Upon arriving you notice this restaurant has a strong local following. Their menu selection is filled with a mix of recognizable dishes and original items you've never tried. I'd recommend the combo appetizer platter for first time visitors. It's a generous portion for up to 4 people and it's all very tasty. I tried the Beyti which was like nothing I had had before. It had an amazing presentation with a great mild lamb flavor. I also tried my cousins Musakka which was the most flavorful I had ever had. The other most noteworthy item were the Cigar pastries.

Atmosphere was average for noise and tables were close together. The restaurant is fast to serve and is quick when turning tables, but not obnoxiously so. All in all, Bursa would be a regular if I were a Bay Area resident.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MKristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love coming to Bursa. They have great salads, appetizers, and kebobs. I have never had a bad meal here, and the staff is very accommodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julianna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
291 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Incredible Atmosphere - Delicious Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great dinner with my wife along with family and relatives. We had a reservation late afternoon/early evening and upon arrival our table was ready. The group ordered a combo dessert that included hummus and falafel along with other appetizers to complement warm bread, olive oil and a spice that the bread is dipped into. The food and presentation were incredible.

The group ordered everything from the shrimp kebabs, chicken, lamb and combo kebabs as well as the stroganoff and Iskender. The spices used and the flavor of the food were truly phenomenal.

The only downside from the experience was that for a portion of the meal a group of approximately 10 people had 3 or 4 children with them that made conversation a bit difficult; however, that is by no means a fault of the restaurant. The wait staff and the employees cordial and prompt on service filling up glasses without being asked.

Overall Bursa is a place we would continue to support whenever we have the opportunity to visit family in the Bay area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank JDSoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our latest visit was with friends. We live in a town just south of San Francisco and have come into the City to this restaurant a number of times ever since Bursa opened. The food and service have consistently been of the highest quality The Turkish dishes are delicious, the kebabs savory, and the side dishes that come with it generous. For instance, the kebabs come with rice and a small salad. The starters are interesting, some standard Mediterranean standbys and some Turkish additions. For a table of four, the combination platter works just fine. For four of us, the tab was $125, which for San Francisco is not excessive (included wine and beer, but without the tip). If you're a visitor to San Francisco, this brings you into a nice neighborhood away from tourist areas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pacdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediterranean getaways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice atmosphere. Good baba ghanosh, Turkish coffee. Kebobs, rice, yum........Avoid parking meters and park in neighborhood behind for free for two hours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bursa also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bursa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing