We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Travelodge (formerly Bayside Inn) on Columbus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #173 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Travelodge (formerly Bayside Inn) on Columbus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good location. Wasn't noisy. Staff very friendly and helpful. rooms are small but they were clean and functional. Could do with better lighting.

San Francisco is an overpriced city -- we found this Travelodge just fine given how expensive SF is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landfall38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    103
    105
    48
    73
See reviews for
95
140
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Although rebranded to Travelodge, they have a ways to go to meet minimal Travelodge standards. They are, however, trying. We recently stayed for 4 nights at a good rate($79p.night). As stated by others, the location is fantastic. The rooms are spartan but clean and everything worked. Parking is cheaper than any other hotel in the area. Staff are polite and helpful. Coming improvements are obvious but there is only so much that you can do with the property. That being said, I would stay here again as the money you save can be put to better use in SF.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pa_uthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Like most hotels at Fisherman's Warf...great location. But the hotel itself is pretty much need renovating. Just a place to sleep and put your stuff down while seeing the city. We stayed from July 10 to 13 and the rates were 150dollars per night plus 14dollars per night for parking. But this was the cheapest hotel in the area within reason.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicAguirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's all about the location! You are at walking distance from the Pier 39, Hard Rock Cafe and from all the cruises to the Bay and Alcatraz. But for 120 USD you should get better than this, at least that's what I paid. It was my first day in the US so I didn't had any idea about the price I should pay for. Now I know and I will not go back for more than 50 USD! If they ask you more than that just find some other place. Really! Filthy room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray8080
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on a road trip. the hotel is in a great location 5 min walk from fishermans wharf. the hotel its self was in the process of chamging to a travelodge. the room that i stayed in was dated although the bathroom had been refurbed to a good standard. the room its self was poor. no air con cloth rail over the bed felt like i was sleeping in a cupboard.curtains did not fully fit the window and no wifi even though it was supposed to be free.
the room was very clean and the staff were lovely. the manager did say that the hotel was in the process of changing to a travelodge. i think that if they up grade the rooms this will be a gem of a hotel to stay in. i would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and although quite dated and basic, the room was very clean, linen and towels spotless and the proprietor, Ish, was very friendly and could not do enough for us. Parking is also much cheaper than the bigger hotels. Ish even let us leave our car there for an extra day after we checked out to go to Alcatraz. We were away all day and he didn't charge us. This hotel is in a great location and only a 5-10 minute walk to Pier 39, Hard Rock Cafe etc. The hotel is currently being taken over by Travelodge and there will be a complete revamp and update. Would have no hesitation about staying here again. Thanks to Ish's hospitality for making our stay in San Francisco a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hell hole was cheap compared to most hotels in San Francisco, but I'd suggest spending a few more dollars per night, than stay in this flea-pit. The decor was drab. The rooms were tiny and dingy, and the whole place just stunk to high heaven. The ice-machine didn't work... the vending- machine didn't work.... the phone didn't work... Our A/C didn't work, so we had a broken fan which barely cleared the air. We went to the manager to ask for one that actually worked, and his response was, "But the weather is supposed to get cooler tonight." THAT statement says it all about this place. Don't go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainJackHoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#122 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#52 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#41 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 1201 Columbus Ave, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94133-1395 (Formerly Bayside Inn at the Wharf - Pacific Hotels)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge by Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn At The Wharf - Pacific Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing