We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service”
Review of Piazza Pellegrini

Piazza Pellegrini
Ranked #242 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Filbert St.
Transit: Union Street & Columbus Avenue (Muni) Mason Street & Filbert Street (Cable Car)
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband & I had a late night dinner here. The food was incredible. The pasta is fresh & homemade. The service was great, everyone was very friendly. I had the home made pappardelle pasta with the short rib ragu & it was very good. They have indoor & outdoor seating. We wanted to go back a 2nd time on our trip but we didn't have the time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    141
    48
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We ate at Piazza Pelligrini prior to a comedy show. This is our third or fouth visit and each time we have enjoyed our meals. The decor is very Italian and the menu is authentic. Although we have never had a bad meal, I would rate the cioppino was fantistic. It is artistically presented and filled with a half crab, clams, mussels, prawns, and salmon. The meat lasagna was also tasty as was the squid ink pasta with salmon. My wife ordered the saltimboca and was a bit diasppointed with the taste. The service is outstanding and the wait staff are all friendly. We made it in plenty of time for our comedy show and truly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Pizza - great service”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing pizza. The red pepper infused olive oil drizzled on top was crazy good. Great sidewalk location in heart of little Italy SF

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mraabpfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a must!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Amazing! If in SF you must visit:) Most of the places were closed on 1st of january but not this one :) Great pizza, great salad, amazing pasta! Really, really god! People working - super friendly! It was a great start of the new year for my family :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanjaVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Business Dinner”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Last night of a three day business trip. We stopped by really based on some recommendations in Trip Advisor - we weren't disappointed! A short walk from the Marriott Fisherman Wharf. We were seated right away around 6:30pm. The service was exceptional! Very attentive. I had a Mista salad that was quite good. The main course was Saltimboca alla Piemontese - Chicken breast stuffed with Prosciutto and mozzarella cheese in a cream sage sauce. This is a dish I could eat again and again! The meat was quite tender and tasty. I shared with a colleague and he shared his pizza. The dough needs a little more salt -- all five of us at the table thought it lacked salt. This is the reason I didn't rank excellent. The Tiramisu was scrumptious! That with a coffee and the evening ended perfectly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Pellegrini also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Piazza Pellegrini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing