We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting menu items, but each was very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B Star

B Star
Ranked #558 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Cross street: 2nd AVenue
Transit: 38 Geary, 33 Balboa, 2 Clement, 1 California
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
225 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting menu items, but each was very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Came here for brunch for the first time and was surprised that the menu was eclectic. I was expecting straight Burmese food, but that's down the street at "Burma Star." I ordered the Filipino breakfast and it was excellent! On the side, we had the brussel sprouts and while I haven't been a huge fan in the past, this was so deliciously prepared, I had several helpings and asked for a take-out menu!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    39
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic fusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is seriously good food. We had an amazing meal tonight. I had the Miso Cod on garlic noodles and it was AMAZING! I would order it again in a heart beat. Seriously, so tasty and well done. I was with group who ordered a variety of dishes including the Brussel sprouts and green papaya salad and from, start to finish, (even the ginger ice cream and coconut afogato) everything was delicious!!! What a rare experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Burmese Fusion on Inner Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great neighborhood to visit in SF and great place to eat. For those not familiar, Burmese cuisine is, itself, a fusion of several tastes from SE Asia. This restaurant takes that fusion and fuses it some more. The Tea Leaf Salad is a unique combination of flavors, none overwhelming, and not to be missed. I had a salmon pot pie, As you might imagine, it has some of the characteristics of a pot pie -- crust, potatoes, peas, sauces -- but with a spicy Asian twist and yummy salmon. My companions' meals were different and delicious. The staff were very friendly and the service was efficient without being overbearing. It is a casual atmosphere but the tables were far enough apart that we felt great privacy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
342 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Unusual, but Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived just in time to participate in the happy hour - which was an exceptional value. We ordered the first course off the happy hour menu and then did entrees off the regular menu. The food was delicious with the duck spring rolls, curry lamb entree and taco duo being especially good. The restaurant is very casual. A bit out to the way, but worth the trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Asian food I've had in the States”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food was amazing! Unique flavors and fresh ingredients mixed perfectly with the clean atmosphere and excellent service. Get there early and be prepared to wait if need be, it's worth it.
Loved the garden rolls and lychee tea!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B Star also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to B Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing