We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Light Gnocchi”
Review of Cafe Zoetrope

Cafe Zoetrope
Ranked #300 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Columbus Ave.
Alameda, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Light Gnocchi”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recommended by Chef Joseph during his initial culinary tour/walk in North Beach (http://www.sffoodsafari.com) - we were not disappointed! We started with Insalata Verde. The baby arugula has a bright, peppery taste - signs of freshness and so good. Then two orders of Malfatti, the spinach and ricotta "malfatti" (Italian for "badly made") dumplings served in a blended tomato and cream sauce. Sounds rich, but it was just delicious. A delightful way to relax after our exploration of North Beach's shops, bakeries, and restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tikinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    109
    27
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west chester, PA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Intimate wine bar with good food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Was more than surprised when walking through Chinatown to find such a warm and inviting restaurant. Pizza was good. Other Italian dishes looked good also.

There were wine tastings and a good selection of bottles.

highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lidia1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i wanted to spend a nice evening getting drinks and having a nice desert. We walked a comfortable walk to Cafe Zoetrope and without a resevation were able to get a place at the bar. The waitress Charlotte was so sweet and the wine suggestion excellent against the apple desert i ordered. The atmosphere was comfortable. We ended up staying longer because of the pleasant conversation and excellent wine! Quite the memorable experience!

Helpful?
Thank Dabney J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baie-Comeau
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went to this restaurant with no expectations at all. The ambiance is cool and cosy. Not a big restaurant, but a warm, jazzy stylewith no pretention. The food was good, the service was good, the place is beautiful. They have, of course, all the Francis Ford Coppola wine selection (it's is restaurant). If you're looking for smooth evening whit friends (no children) don't hesitate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It has a story within”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Since I went to Nappa 8 yrs ago and visited Nibaum-Copola estate, this cafe/restaurant was a perfect upgrade because is owned by FFCopola and on the upper floors they still making movie music, editing & stuff....I adore their own vine selection, zinfandel is my pick. Food is good enough for Italian trattoria...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KicTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zoetrope also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe Zoetrope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing