We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful.”
Review of Mijita

Mijita
Ranked #1,895 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Ely, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Brilliant fish tacos! Quick service with outdoor seating and excellent views. Very popular place, so if you go at lunchtime, be ready to wait in a queue. But once order is placed, the food is freshly made and arrives at your table very quickly. i enjoyed the fish tacos so much, that I did go several times, but ordered the same thing... they were that good!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    60
    50
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Albondigas at Ferry Building, SF”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We opted for Mijita for lunch at the ferry building - probably could have done better. Nice to sit by the water, and food was ok. Nothing special. The albondigas soup was only average, and I had looked forward to it. My wife's burrito was fine. Order at the counter with food delivered to table. Not much for atmosphere other than water view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batesczsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced minimal menu best enjoyed by beer drinkers”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I applaud Traci Des Jardins for paying homage to her Mexican roots, but I don't think she's been here in a while. Mijita has descended into a very pared down menu of tacos (one per order) and nachos and $6 chicken tamales, wilted corn tortillas, sugary aguas frescas for the after work or tourist crowds at the Ferry Building. Breakfasts are probably a better option with their Huevos dishes or pozole, but even then they are outclassed by the Saturday morning crowds at the Primavera stand --the best food hands down at the Farmers Market.

Point is there no soul to any of the dishes at Mijita and this certainly does not resemble the Mijita in its early years. Flabby uninteresting food or really fillings for dry tortillas and measly salsas. Beers and margaritas are the money makers and I suppose this will keep them around. The cooks would do well to stand around the loving care and excitement of the cooks at the Primavera stand on Saturdays to try to bring some of their magic to their expensive stall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, even better view”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I like to consider myself a Mexican food snob ;), and I must say the food here was delicious. I had the shrimp taco and the fish taco and both were tasty. The chips and tortillas were homemade, which is a plus in my book. If it is a nice day, be sure to sit outside, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USCfan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really fast, decent food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Nothing too crazy good to gush about, but it was really fast and people were nice. Seating available both inside and out. Rather loud inside, but the line moved really quickly!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becca_224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mijita also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mijita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing