We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique ice cream - worth the wait”

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
Ranked #1 of 144 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Mission District
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Unique ice cream - worth the wait”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place always has a long line down the street. That said, the line moves quickly and reward is the ability to sample the many unique flavors of this wonderful ice cream. We settled on the best known and always available salted caramel. It was outstanding. We will definitely be going back to try many of the other flavors during future visits to the Mission District.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    146
    43
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonner Springs
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Only ice cream shop with crowd control barriers”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

When you see a line on the street with crowd control barrier you know something interesting is happening, a concert, a celebrity, or an accident. You don't expect to find a line for ice cream. We have a high standard for ice-cream. There are a few local shops where we are from that make some amazing gourmet flavors. Bi-Rite may actually beat them. The malted vanilla with peanut brittle and milk chocolate pieces and honey lavender were our favorites. It is worth waiting in line for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StealAway71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the line deter you as it's fast. The choices are unique and prices reasonable to sample 3 flavors. Tried peaches scoop and banana with chocolate swirl. Truly heaven on a cone. Freshly made. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellerio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven in a cup”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best ice cream ever.... and I eat a LOT of ice cream.
The roasted banana and chocolate swirl, with a large helping of their to-die-for hot fudge, was fantastic. I could have eaten three cups. The brown sugar something or other was also delicious and, though it is a bit overplayed as a flavor, the salted caramel was fantastic... the best I've had.
If I'd been by myself, I would have been making a lot of happy eating noises; my only regret was that other people were around and I had to keep my joy (mostly) to myself.
More on the hot fudge: forget every pure sugar, vaguely chocolate tasting hot fudge sauce you've had. This is the real deal. Hot FUDGE. MMMMMMM>

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I tried many icecreams at my US trip but Bi-Rite was simply the best! I had lavender honey it smelled and tasted so fresh and delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing