We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salted Caramel ice cream "to die for"”

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
Ranked #1 of 146 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Mission District
Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Salted Caramel ice cream "to die for"”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't even bother trying other flavors, though they're all good. This one beats them hands down. We were headed to lunch at another place when we (gasp) noticed that there was no line at Bi-Rite. So we ate dessert first. Go early if you hate lines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DelhiExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    146
    43
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Innovative flavors, excellent ice cream”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

There are a handful of places trying interesting flavor combinations, but the texture or character of the base ice cream leaves something to be desired. This is definitely NOT the case at Bi-Rite Creamery. The ice cream is creamy and rich, forming a perfect canvas that really allows their ice cream flavors to shine.

I had a cone with one scoop of balsamic strawberry and one scoop of basil - a great combination. My partner had the sundae with chocolate ice cream (and it's a nice deep, dark, rich chocolate!), bergamot-scented olive oil and sea salt. Unbelievable! If you've never tried olive oil on ice cream before, it's pretty magical. I could have done without all the whipped cream that came on the sundae, though. It was a bit of overkill on an otherwise perfect sundae.

Go here, even if the line looks long. The line moves fast, and it's worth the wait anyway!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svenska-deutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Holy Deliciousness!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

AMAZING ice cream! The fabulous staff let us try any flavor we wanted without making us feel bad about it. Every flavor was delicious and I fear this may be the beginning of a horrible addiction to the best ice cream everrrrrrrrr! Yum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoGoAgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely loved their ice cream. They let us try every flavor we wanted and they were all so good it was a killer to try and decide. Best Coffee Toffee Chip we have ever had, Orange Cardamon was good and the Salted Caramel and Brown sugar something were too delicious for words. Friendly and helpful staff. No line when we got there. Our friends are travelling there this week and this is a must see on their list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank treehugger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream & Local Grocery”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped in at the Creamery and Grocery a couple of times while visiting the SF area. The ice cream was pretty amazing - they have tons of flavors that change daily. Lots of earthy/natural flavors. Line was out the door both times we had ice cream. The accompanying store had a great selection of fresh, local produce and other products (coffee, beer/wine, candies, etc.). Pretty much anything you would want but fresh and local to the SF area. A great find and a great place to enjoy ice cream and shop around for local items. They even sell honey in the store that is made from a bee hive on the store's roof!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outdoor328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing