We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
Ranked #1 of 146 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mission District
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a fantastic bakery. If you like bread you will be in heaven and the pastries are beyond compare. The varieties of bread go beyond description. Great place

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joni1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    136
    39
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eufaula
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the time I started planning our San Francisco trip I wanted to visit Bi-Rite. Our walking tour thankfully went right by this wonderful place. We asked our tour guide if we could stop in. We were just in luck as there was no line. I had the salted caramel and the malted vanilla with peanut brittle pieces. Very good ice cream.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For a HOT day or not so HOT day in SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lines are often long in the summertime, but well worth the long wait! Excellent selection of ice creams and baked goods.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdb7music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“the best ice-cream i have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

not kidding.

this was my 2nd visit to bi-rite (first time last year when i visited SF), and i've officially decided this is the best icecream i have ever had. try the earl grey or the honey lavender (or really, just get both if it's on the list) - both are amazing. don't be daunted by the long line. it was totally worth the wait, even though the line stretched around the block and i was freezing my bum off.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were taking a tour and walked past Bi-Rite, which I had read about and been lusting after. We asked the tour guide if it was possible for us to go and he said of course. Luckily the 2 other girls on the tour were just as excited. I got 3 scoops- salted caramel, snickerdoodle ( I can't remember the exact name but it had hunks of snickerdoodle cookies in it) and banana. It was AMAZING! We were lucky and didn't have a line but I would totally wait in line for 30 minutes for this ice cream!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing