We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still one of the best”

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
Ranked #1 of 146 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mission District
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I don't know, even though sometimes standing in line for twenty minutes seems like a long time, it really isn't; especially if you're with someone else or a group. Indeed, the cue time foments a kind of community spirit, and quite often the conversation is alive a lively. And the ice cream is superlative, with surprise combinations that delight the palate.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jarion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    138
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife & I heard about Bi-Rite so we decided to give it a try. Despite some poor reviews we found the staff to be helpful & polite even though it was very busy (15-20 min wait in line).
My wife & I had 6 different flavors which we shared. I had the balsamic strawberry, roasted banana & creme fraich while she had the malted vanilla, salted caramel, & ricanelas (cinnamon with snickerdoodle pieces). I thought my flavors were better and she thought hers were better but we both agreed they were good. I would go there again if I was in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdude7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is such a great shop! Had the perfect amount of everything. Not too much to choose from.. Fruits and veggies were so fresh and a great selection of bread and cheese. Didn't get to try the ice cream, maybe next time. Wish it was in my neighborhood!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank zummy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What an amazing treat.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I like ice cream in general. But, I love Bi-Rite Creamery. This ice cream is not only delicious, but it is in a fantastic location with very friendly service. If you are in the area, don't pass on this.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Io-Truman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Roasted Banana & Coffee Sundae was AWESOME!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were visiting SF and had to give this place a try....and it did not disappoint! Don't let the long line discourage you, it moves pretty fast - even on the weekend!

There are such wonderful flavors and everyone in our party loved their choices: Scoops of roasted banana, toasted coconut, coffee sundae and afternoon sundae!

Not sure why people have complained about the employees being rude. We had a ton of questions and they were patient and helpful.

We will definitely be back to try new flavors!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMF2_On-The-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing