We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views and great Service”
Review of Top of the Mark

Top of the Mark
Ranked #87 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: California & Mason Streets
Transit: Powell Street Cable Car; California Street Cable Car
Description: For 70 years, the Top Of The Mark has been favored by both locals and travelers as the venue of choice, whether for an intimate rendezvous, a festive celebration or just plain fun. Located atop the InterContinental Mark Hopkins, the world-renowned sky lounge and restaurant affords a near-360 degree vista of San Francisco and the surrounding sights, including the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, the East Bay Hills, downtown and Twin Peaks.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Incredible views and great Service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the place to end your evening on a clear night. Spectacular! The bar is vibrant, the service excellent yet unobtrusive, so that the view reigns supreme. A 360 birds eye view of a great city scape.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    291
    118
    64
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun, spendy, fun band”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

diverse crowd in terms of age but we had fun, spendy cover and drinks but fun nonetheless. band was decent but ultimately knew how to get the crowd on the dance floor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 21senor_pep_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunday champagne brunch buffet”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had the Sunday champagne this past weekend.

Pluses: Fantastic view, great service, great ambience, great selection, good food. I have no complaints at all, this may be the second best Sunday champagne brunch buffet in San Francisco after the Palace Court.

Because the restaurant has limited space the food selection is not as extensive as the Palace and being a buffet there are the standard issues - some things don't sit out well. But all in all the food is tasty, the assortment plentiful, the champagne free flowing and the view spectacular (we just happened to be there on an America's Cup racing day and had a great view of the event.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Views are worth the drinks.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went around 6:30 or 7 Pm and we were seated right away. The view is wonderful especially as the sun sets and all the city lights come on. There was no cover at that time , but I think there is a cover charge later in the evening. The drinks are pricey but about what you would expect at a nice hotel- mixed drinks were about $14. Our house made potato chips were so-so.
I thought the service was very good- certainly not rude or stuffy, but not chatty. Our waiter even let us change tables when a better one became available. We never felt rushed. We had a lovely time. As we left there was a line to get in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vandynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Views of San Francisco”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch at The Top of The Mark and the views are spectacular. I was also pleasantly surprised that the prices of the food were not outrageous. And the food was very very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Mark also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Top of the Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing