We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the usual Vietnamese food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zadin - CLOSED

Zadin
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Castro
Cross street: Hartford
Transit: We are two blocks from the Castro Station MUNI stop.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not the usual Vietnamese food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stumbled into Zadin on Friday evening knowing nothing about it. The menu outside was very different from the usual Vietnamese food we're used to. It quickly filled with people who had been there before. We had grilled scallops in green curry and angus beef over steamed vegetables. Both dishes were delicious although the portions were skimpy and we left hungry. It is expensive quantity-wise. Maybe a good place for dieters? Nice atmosphere and pleasant staff. We had to go for a slice of pizza down the street afterwards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hankmail505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've been going to Zadin for years and it's always really good. Love the Salt & Pepper Calimari and the Shaken Beef. Wine selection is good and reasonably priced. I no longer live in SF but still love going back whenever I can. Friendly waitstaff and owners - they always make you feel welcome. See you on my next trip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eviowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The title says the most. The vietnamese food here is good, unpretentious, but well made and we liked the place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mkabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
644 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Seriously good value/quality & lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Really well prepared Vietnamese / French fusion at a 'Happy Happy' price. ... friendly & attentive service in super clean surrounds gets our highest recomendation. A neighbourhood treasure in the Castro WORTH travelling for....ZADIN

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nice decor and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The food at this place rocks! You know you're in a good restaurant when you don't have page upon page of menu items to choose from. The food was fresh, tasty, full of flavour and aroma and led to an enjoyable dining experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank comfy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zadin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing