We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Roy's - San Francisco
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - San Francisco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #456 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd
Transit: BART (Montgomery Exit) MUNI (Mission #12)
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoy both the prix fixe dinner and the Aloha Hour. They are both great values. The food is very good and flavorful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    102
    51
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Consistent”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have eaten here several times. The ambiance is nice for couples and there is an area for large parties too. The service was always good, and the food consistent. We usually get the prix fixe - a pretty good value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beagirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining chain”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The dinner with the fiancee was part of the "dine about town" three course meal deal that came with an appetizer, entree and dessert. The service was attentative and the food was a little bit above average. They were very accomodating however since our dinner was running late and we had to catch a movie showing they were able to box up our dessert to take on the go.

Ambiance wasnt necessarily romantic since there were families and big parties eating all around but it is within the financial district (not the most romantic spots in sf unless you love being surrounded by skyscrapers...)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bokboked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely anniversary dinner”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary this weekend and we chose Roys's because we,have enjoyed this restaurant before. The reservation process was easy, they asked if it was an occasion and I told them. We arrived as the restaurant was opening and seated after a short wait. The staff is great and the service was warm, friendly and efficient. We were seated by the window and given the menu and to our surprise they had put a whole page insert inside with personalized anniversary wish. I thought that was really thoughtful . Our server was so helpful and answered all pour questions in an easy relaxed but very informative manner; you do not always get someone who takes the time to go into detail. We had the lobster appetizer and the Cesar salad. The lobster was tasty enough but I wish it was crispier. I liked it and did not expect huge chunks of lobster for the price, it was like a wonton after all. Now I loved the Cesar salad, it had a different tropical slant to the dressing served with lots and lots of shaved Parmesan. It was a big salad and we were glad we had decided to share. Ate the whole thing. I had the fish trio, I liked the butter fish the best , but really enjoyed all three. I thought it was the perfect proportion for my size of appetite, others might have found it small. My husband and the 14pz rib-eye and he said it was great He thought the potato gratin was crispy, which he liked. The Brussels sprouts were a bit too al dente for him, but he liked the spicy taste. We had the pineapple upside down cake with coco it ice cream it was delicious!! On top of all this they presented us with a lovely two piece chocolate and cheesecake bites, decorated with a Happy anniversary wish written on the plate. That was a lovely surprise. At the end they took our picture and presented us with a copy and a sweet poem printed. Now that was a lovely ending and we will always remember the warmth and excellent service of the staff at Roy's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“At these prices, we have the right to expect better food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We typically shy away from corporate chain restaurants, including fancy ones like Roy's. But we received in the mail a $25 coupon which prompted us to give Roy's a try. We went with an open mind & hoped for the best. The result was less than stellar. We shared the lobster roll appetizer. A little skimpy on lobster, the dish tasted mostly of dressing and the raw onion topping. The Hawaiin bread, lightly toasted, was soft & tasty. Next, we had the fish trio. We liked the butter fish best, sauce was delish. The macadamia crusted mahi mahi was our least favorite, it tasted over-salted and flat. The salmon was okay. We also ordered the osso bucco. I appreciated the Asian treatment of this classic Italian dish, but the meat was overcooked and dry. I liked the congee, it was delicately flavored and pleasant. The big disappointment was the chocolate souffle dessert. It arrived dry and lukewarm. It tasted no better than Trader Joe's chocolate molten lava frozen dessert (which we love). It was a far cry from the chocolate molten cake at Cafe Claude, an excellent French bistro in SF. Now that's a dessert worth talking about! For 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, 1 dessert, 2 wine, 1 soda, and 1 coffee, the bill came out to $125. At these prices, customers have the right to expect much better food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MakiWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to Roy's - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing