We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled out and great coffee”
Review of Nook Cafe

Nook Cafe
Ranked #1,223 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Chilled out and great coffee”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have passed by this place many times in my previous visit to San Francisco but never had the chance to enter. I went to the Nook for the first time yesterday and went back for some more of their great coffee today. They have free wifi from 7am-6pm on weekdays and both times I entered everyone was there with laptops. It seems like a really chilled out place to hang out for the afternoon. Their sandwiches are great and their coffee is even better. On the quiet side of town but you can see the cable car pass through every 5 mins which is cute.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anguilla
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Favorite neighborhood gem!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Gosh, I love this little place! I'm here way too often, but the coffee, the food and the staff keeps me coming back for more. Their bagel with lox is a great breakfast bet as is their veggie breakfast wrap! I love that they use the 'Stampt' program, too (iPhone users have to download it -- such a great little application!) -- get 10 stamps for coffee and get one free. :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lavidashannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

V.good espresso, delicious food and awesome happy hour to finish off the day.

Check out my blog for other recommended cafes in NZ, Aussie, Vancouver and NY on www.espresso-jono.blogspot.com

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jono J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice 'lil cafe”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Lovely range of interesting and tasty sandwiches, small plates and salads.
All fresh and made to order while we waited.

Good baristas who can read a milk thermometer!
Free WiFi during the week - right on the cable car route too, we stopped off here often...

Jooshead's Chai Latte rating: 8/10 - really very, very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy hour before the restaraunts!”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great Happy hour, really friendly staff and a perfect way to start your evening!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Thebuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nook Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing