We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ is good but inconsistent :(” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadside BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roadside BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: The Richmond
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“BBQ is good but inconsistent :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nice people , good food . But not always good , have need many times . Sometimes good and something not the veggies and sweet potatoes fries are great !!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrmotomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Always leary of BBQ but this was pretty awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Had a pulled pork sandwich, great flavor.

The BBQ sauce selection included a HOT, and they for once meant it, but yet it wasn't just spice for the sake of spice, it was excellent.

Guinness, always good even if it is just a can O'

Mashed Potatoes were light, fluffy, real butter, gravy was good...

Blues on the stereo, always good considering most BBQ places do country music

I was very impressed and will go back again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank i_am_the_koi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We have tried both sandwiches and dinners. Both were excellent - very tasty and fresh. Service was frienly and efficient, Very good value with the family packs. Will eat there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“San Francisco's spot for BBQ cravings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

San Francisco is not known for its BBQ but this is a great place to visit if you are a BBQ-head.
My favorite is the heavenly Memphis Pulled Pork sandwich. To make the decision of whether to have coconut creme or banana creme easier, Roadside BBQ offers coconut banana creme pie....if you have room. This is a casual place where you order at the counter. The service is very friendly. Americana objects like old gas pumps and metal signs decorate the restaurant while golden oldies and road classics provide the soundtrack. I highly recommend this place to foreign tourists who want to experience traditional American food and culture. I always notice that kids like this place. I also always leave Roadside BBQ with a feeling of contentment. Comfort food!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Surprise in the city of the slow food movement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

The smell of BBQ hit me from the street. And I was not disappointed upon arrival. We decided to try a variety of food stuffs -- pork BBQ minis (NC Style, use the vinegar marinade), chopped beef brisket and half slab pork ribs. The meat was tender and succulent with the right amount of sauces and rubs. The coleslaw side was inventive with peppers and a marinade instead of mayo -- a welcomed change. The sweet tea wasn't quite southern sweet, but did the trick to wash it all down. After spending a few days eating organic and healthy, it was nice to indulge in down home food. My one complaint is that parking is terrible. This is on a main street but surrounded by residential neighborhoods so parking is terrible and there isn't a close BART station, but there are several buses that go to that area.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frparker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing