We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
238
286
87
47
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
238
286
87
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room chestnut street marina district palace of fine arts free parking the golden gate bridge full kitchen lombard st the presidio crissy field fisherman's wharf within walking distance street noise bed was comfortable public transit two blocks garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 697 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2019

This little gem is in a perfect part of town and close to many shops and restaurants. We stayed here and took an Uber over to the Orpheum to see Hamilton! The lady in the office told me not to go to the Orpheum area for dinner and she was so right! Also, they let us keep our car parked here after we checked out for a few hours so we could go for a long walk down to the beach and get breakfast. Super nice staff and the room is cute. The bathroom in the room was beautiful! Would definitely stay here again and loved our courtyard view room. Didn't even notice any noise from the street. This is a perfect place to stay for a decent price and free parking.

Room tip: We loved our courtyard room!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019

We absolutely loved our stay at the Marina Motel in San Francisco when we visited in November 2018 for a week as a couple with a two year old infant (and importantly a rental car!).

For starters, it is hard to underestimate how good a deal this Motel is if you are travelling with a car. The fact that you can park directly next to your room, in a dedicated parking spot (often a slim garage) off the roads and at no additional cost is incredibly useful. Most hotels in the area will charge upwards of $40 a night for car parking. As it goes, renting a car from the airport is very reasonable, and very worthwhile - San Fran itself has great public transport (so a car isn't necessarily needed for the city) but there is so much to see just outside including Muir Woods and Napa Valley, as well as the Golden Gate Bridge, that having a car for longer trips is a very good idea. Plus driving in San Fran, as opposed to cities such as London or New York, is straightforward.

We took a queen room with a kitchenette in the courtyard. The decor is 1930's and very original (i.e. well loved), but the room was also absolutely spotless, including the kitchen with the very original fixtures and tea/coffee making facilities that were replenished as used. The place has real charm and our room at least was bright and airy, on the 1st floor so accessible by terracotta stairs lined with beautiful flowers. The room wasn't huge but perfectly big enough for our purposes, with a large cloakroom and chest of drawers. Having the car nearby in a safe location means you can leave any huge items (i.e. a pram) in there if you wanted to. A cot for our infant was provided on request (ask in advance about this) and cleaning/towel service came every day.

The motel is self-catered, but they do have a delivery services partner that acts as room service (allowing 40mins or so). We never used this because there are so many great food options nearby along Chestnut Street (directly behind the motel). The area felt very safe, as tourists with a small child we walked the area in the evening without any hint of worry. You are a 40 min (relatively flat for San Fran) walk to Fishermans Walk, and Paradiso to the West is a lovely movie park with access to some great views of the bridge.

I would recommend going for a courtyard room for a quiet stay as the street facing rooms back onto Lombard street which is relatively busy (it's not New York busy, but still there is a lot of traffic/roadworkings that run late). Staff were very friendly throughout our stay, always on hand to help with recommendations of places to go and public transport options (buses can be caught from near the hotel, but they take a bit to work out).

All in all, fantastic find - would gladly stay again.

Room tip: For quieter stay choose rooms within the courtyard of the property
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandagettinghitched
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

Spent a week at the lovely Marina Motel visiting family living locally. It was a great room situated off a beautiful courtyard and perfectly located.
The room was warm, well equipped with a kitchen, shower room, wardrobe, TV and plenty of cupboard space. Cleaned and towel changes every day. Staff were more than helpful including communicating with me beforehand about late arrival and also printing boarding passes. We didn’t have a vehicle but there was garage space if needed.
Thoroughly recommend to other travellers - we would love to return.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

An unusual expérience for San Francisco. Relaxed environment where my room was in a hidden courtyard with many Shue a and flowers. Kitchenette included where you can make a leusurely breakfast without having to get dressed. Very clean despite the 1939 construction date. It felt like being back in the 1950’s, but quite confortable.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019 via mobile

Always trying to save money and be thrifty when I can, I selected this motel after spending $60 a night just for parking during our last visit to SF with a popular (more expensive) chain hotel near the Warf. Well I will admit this place is “charming” and “quaint”. But you just can’t get quality for a reasonable price anymore. The beds are small and not comfy. Small cheap pillows (one per person only). And the closet had a terrible musty-chemical smell. Worse yet, I didn’t feel clean staying here. I questioned how often they clean the bedding, the coffee pot had coffee residue, used sponge on the kitchen. Maybe I’m just higher maintenance than most but I felt itchy staying here. Stay was nice and said half if people who chose street view complain and change rooms. We originally opted for street but changed before even looking at the “larger” room because it was right off the street. They warned to lock the garage where you kept your car for safety. That made me immediately spend more for a courtyard room. I drive a nice car. Didn’t like the warning. Stay was okay but won’t be back.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank gd2go00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews